External awards

Teaching Awards recognize outstanding post-secondary educators. The Centre for Pedagogical Innovation (CPI) is available to consult on teaching award submissions and teaching dossiers. If you wish to discuss your application package, or would like to nominate an outstanding Brock University professor, please contact a member of our Educational Development team at eddev@brocku.ca.

3M Teaching Fellowshipsstlhe.ca/awards/ Revised Call for NominatioinsNew Date February 1All
The Outstanding Educator in Diabetes Awardprofessional.diabetes.org/content-page/outstanding-educator-diabetes-awardSeptemberNursing
Governor General’s Innovation Awardsrhf-frh.ca/our-initiatives/innovation/governor-generals-innovation-awardsTBA SeptemberAll
Taylor L. Booth Education Award, IEEE Computer Science Societycomputer.org/volunteering/awards/boothOctoberComputer Science
Award for Excellence in Teaching Geography, Canadian Association of Geographers Awardscag-acg.ca/awards-and-grantsJanuaryGeography
CAP Medal for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, Canadian Association of Physicists Awardscap.ca/programs/medals-and-awards/medals-teaching/undergraduate-teaching-medalJanuaryPhysics
Adrien Pouliot Award, Canadian Mathematical Societycms.math.ca/Prizes/info/ap.html Opens JanuaryMathematics
D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learningstlhe.ca/awardsJanuaryAll
United States Society for Education through Art - Ziegfeld Awardsussea.net/awardsJanuaryEducation
International Society for Education through Art (InSEA) International Edwin Ziegfeld Awardinsea.org/InSEA-awardsTBA SpringEducation
Alan Blizzard Teaching Awardstlhe.ca/awardsFebruary, biennial awardAll
Christopher Knapper Lifetime Achievement Awardstlhe.ca/awardsFebruary, biennial awardAll
Award for Strategic Contribution to Nursing Education, Council of Ontario Universities Programs in Nursing (COUPN) Awardscou.ca/resources/awardsMarchNursing
Clinical Instructor Award, Council of Ontario Universities Programs in Nursing (COUPN) Awardscou.ca/resources/awardsMarchNursing
Excellence in Teaching Award, Council of Ontario Universities Programs in Nursing (COUPN) Awardscou.ca/resources/awardsMarchNursing
Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Servicecms.math.ca/awards/graham-wright-awardMarchMathematics
Apereo Teaching and Learning Awardsapereo.org/communities/atlas/atlas-faqMarchAll
Canadian Academy of Health Sciences Fellowshipcahs-acss.caMarchHealth Sciences
OCUFA Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awardsocufa.on.ca/ocufa-awardsMayAll
OUSA Teaching Awardsocufa.on.ca/ocufa-awards
Student nominated awards
The CIC Award for Chemistry Education, Chemical Institute of Canadacheminst.ca/recognition/cic-awards/chemistry-awardJulyChemistry
OLC Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Online Teaching Awardonlinelearningconsortium.org/about/olc-awardsAugustAll

Each year, the Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) recognizes outstanding teachers and academic librarians in Ontario universities through awards. Approximately ten awards are presented each year.

2015Tim O’Connell, Recreation and Leisure Studies
2012Brent E. Faught, Applied Health Sciences
2006Zopito Marini, Social Sciences
2004John Mitterer, Psychology
2001Anna H. Lathrop, Physical Education
1998Leslie Boldt-Irons, French, Italian & Spanish
1995Eric R. Muller, Mathematics
1995Ann D. Duffy, Sociology
1994Lorne J. Adams, Physical Education
1992Patricia Cranton, Education
1991Mary Frances Richardson, Chemistry
1986Donald J. Ursino, Biological Sciences

Ontario’s Best Lecturer is a contest held by TV Ontario to select Ontario’s best lecturer in a post-secondary institution. Nominations are solicited from students and a number of rounds of selections are made based on video submissions and then a final selection of a top ten, or more recently a top twenty,  is made by an expert panel. Those top lectures are profiled and filmed by TVO and aired on their Big Ideas program and then viewers are asked to select Ontario’s Best Lecturer.

Over the years many Brock University lecturers have been nominated and a significant amount have been named as finalists.

2009Bill Ralph, Department of Mathematics
2008James Allard, Department of English
2008John Mitterer, Department of Psychology

The CAUT Distinguished Academic Award is an annual national award that recognizes academics who excel in each of the domains of academic life: teaching, research, service to the institution and to the community. The recipients will be individuals whose teaching, research and service have contributed noticeably to the lives of their students, to their institution, to their field of study, and to the community.

2010Barry Grant