TA Workshop Series

The TA Workshop Series provides ongoing professional development opportunities for Brock Teaching Assistants, Lab Demonstrators, Course Coordinators, Marker-Graders, and Seminar Leaders. Each workshop offers an opportunity to explore topics related to teaching and learning as part of Brock’s TA community.

Participation in workshops earns TAs credits towards the available TA Certificates in Teaching and Learning in Higher Education.

Who can attend?

TA workshops are open to all Brock Teaching Assistants, Lab Demonstrators, Course Coordinators, Marker-Graders and Seminar/Tutorial Leaders

How can I register?

You can find workshop details and register to attend on the CPI events system. If you have any questions please feel free to reach out to eddev@brocku.ca

Winter 2022 TA Workshop Schedule

Here you will find the TA workshop schedule for the winter 2022 term. In at least January all synchronous workshops will be facilitated through Microsoft Teams. Asynchronous workshops will take place in Sakai.

Synchronous workshops

For the month of January all synchronous workshops will take place on Microsoft Teams. There is the possibility of on-campus, limited enrollment workshops in February but a decision will be made and communicated closer to that time.

Statement of Teaching Philosophy  – Saturday, January 15 at 9am

Documenting Your Teaching – Saturday, January 15 at 10:30am

Statement of Teaching Philosophy – Tuesday, January 18 at 10am

Documenting Your Teaching – Thursday, January 20 at 2pm

Campus Resources for Brock TAs: Scavenger Hunt – Saturday, January 29 at 9am

Supporting Academic Integrity with Your Students – Saturday, January 29 at 10:30am

The Ombuds Office and TAs – Wednesday, February 9 at 10am

Reading Student Feedback – Tuesday, March 29 at 10am

Reflecting on Your Teaching – Tuesday, March 29 at 2pm

February Workshops (location TBD)

Supporting Experiential Learning as a TA – Saturday, February 12 at 9am

The TAs Toolbox for Supporting Student Mental Health – Saturday, February 12 at 10:30am

TAs Teaching About Teaching, Part 1 – Saturday, February 26 at 9am

Grading Strategies: Rubrics – Saturday, February 26 at 10:30am

TAs Teaching About Teaching, Part 2 – Saturday, March 12 at 9am

TAs and the Labyrinth – Saturday, March 12 at 10:30am


Asynchronous workshops

What To Do During the First Week/Class – Tuesday, January 4 through Friday, January 21

Building an Online Learning Community – Saturday, January 22 through Friday, February 4

Universal Design for Learning for Teaching Assistants – Saturday, February 5 through Friday February 18

Digital Communication for Teaching Assistants – Saturday, February 19 through Friday, March 4

Facilitating Discussions Online – Saturday, March 5 through Friday, March 18

Active Learning Online – Saturday, March 19 through Friday, April 1

Questions?

Please email us at eddev@brocku.ca if you have any questions about the TA Workshop Series, the TA Certificate programs, or need assistance with registration.