TA Workshop Series

The TA Workshop Series provides ongoing professional development opportunities for Brock Teaching Assistants, Lab Demonstrators, Course Coordinators, Marker-Graders, and Seminar Leaders. Each workshop offers an opportunity to explore topics related to teaching and learning as part of Brock’s TA community.

Participation in workshops earns TAs credits towards the available TA Certificates in Teaching and Learning in Higher Education.

TA Day 2021 is happening on Saturday, September 18. Join us to meet the team from the Centre for Pedagogical Innovation, learn about campus resources and information to support you in your role as a TA, and participate in workshops!

Who can attend?

TA workshops are open to all Brock Teaching Assistants, Lab Demonstrators, Course Coordinators, Marker-Graders and Seminar/Tutorial Leaders

How can I register?

You can find workshop details and register to attend on the CPI events system. If you have any questions please feel free to reach out to eddev@brocku.ca

Fall 2021 TA Workshop Schedule

All workshops will continue to take place virtually for the fall 2021 term. Synchronous workshops will be facilitated through Microsoft Teams. Asynchronous workshops will take place in Sakai.

Synchronous workshops

Documenting Your Teaching (Saturday, October 2 @ 9am)

The TAs Toolbox in Supporting Mental Health (Tuesday, October 19 @ 11am)

Growth Mindset for Teaching Assistants’ Success (Thursday, October 28th @12pm)

No Capes! Pedagogy as a Foundation for Instructional Design (Saturday, October 30 @9am)

Helping Students Prepare for Exams (Saturday, November 13 @9am)

Strategies for Online Engagement (Thursday, November 18 @ 4pm)

Engaging in Reflective Practice – What’s Behind Door #3 (Tuesday, November 23 @1pm)

Reading Student Feedback on Your Teaching (Saturday, November 27 @ 9am)


asynchronous workshops

What to do During the First Class/Week (Monday, August 30 through Friday, September 10)

Building an Online Learning Community (Monday, September 20 through Friday October 1)

Instructional Strategies 101 (Monday, September 20 through Friday October 1)

Universal Design for Learning for Teaching Assistants (Saturday, October 16 through Friday October 29)

Using Feedback to Support Teaching and Learning (Saturday, October 16 through Friday October 29)

Facilitating Discussion in the Online Classroom (Saturday, November 13 through Friday November 26)

Preparing your Students for Giving and Receiving Feedback (Saturday, November 13 through Friday November 26)

Teaching and Accessibility (Saturday, November 27 through Friday December 10)

Questions?

Please email us at eddev@brocku.ca if you have any questions about the TA Workshop Series, the TA Certificate programs, or need assistance with registration.