Researchers

John Bonnett
Associate Professor
Office: GL 249
905 688 5550 x5552
jbonnett@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Canadian Intellectual History; History and Computing; Diplomatic History; Computer Assisted Pedagogy; Harold Innis

Michael Driedger
Associate Professor
Office: GL 221
905 688 5550 x3972
mdriedger@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Early Modern Europe; Reformation; Religious Movements & Minorities; Mennonites; Liberal Arts Education

Tami Friedman
Associate Professor
Office: GL 225
905 688 5550 x3709
friedma@brocku.ca
Research Interests: 20th-century U.S. history; social history of economic change; gender, race, and ethnicity

Gregor Kranjc
Associate Professor
Office: GL 245
905 688 5550 x6161
gkranjc@brocku.ca
Research Interests: modern Eastern Europe, WWII, war crimes

Renee Lafferty-Salhany
Associate Professor
Office: GL 239
905 688 5550 x4231
rlafferty@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Post-Confederation Canada; Canadian Studies; Relition; Social Policy and Welfare; Alcoholism

Maureen Lux
Professor
Office: GL 219
905 688 5550 x5553
mlux@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Canadian; Aboriginal; History of Medicine

Andrew McDonald
Professor
Office: GL 251
905 688 5550 x3569
amcdonal@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Medieval British Isles; Particularly Scotland & Isle of Man; Vikings & Viking Age

Jane McLeod
Associate Professor
Office: GL 241
905 688 5550 x3501
jmcleod@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Early Modern France; French Revolution; Censorship

Behnaz Mirzai
Associate Professor
Office: GL 253
905 688 5550 x5283
bmirzai@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Modern Middle East; Indian Ocean; Islam; African Diaspora; Slavery; Minorities

Elizabeth Neswald
Associate Professor
Office: GL 227
905 688 5550 x5327
eneswald@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Nineteenth-century German and Irish science; thermodynamics and culture; history of science and technology

Olatunji Ojo
Associate Professor
Office: GL 255
905 688 5550 x5146
oojo@brocku.ca
Research Interests:  African social and economic, slavery, African diaspora

Carmela Patrias
Professor
Office: GL 223
905 688 5550 x4037
cpatrias@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Post-Confederation Canada; Immigration; Women’s & Labour History

Daniel Samson
Associate Professor and Chair
Office: GL 235
905 688 5550 x3503
dsamson@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Rural Politics & Culture in Colonial Canada

Mark Spencer
Associate Professor
Office: GL 256
905 688 5550 x3506
mspencer@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Early America; History of Ideas; David Hume

Maria del Carmen Suescun Pozas
Associate Professor
Office: GL 247
905 688 5550 x5145
msuescunpozas@brocku.ca
Research Interests: modern Latin America, gender, art

Elizabeth Vlossak
Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director
Office: GL 217
905 688 5550 x4020
evlossak@brocku.ca
Research Interests: 20th century Europe, France and Germany; social and cultural history; nationalism; borderlands; women and gender.

Ning Wang
Associate Professor
Office: GL 231
905 688 5550 x3505
nwang@brocku.ca
Research Interests: modern China

Murray Wickett
Associate Professor
Office: GL 233
905 688 5550 x3504
mwickett@brocku.ca
Research Interests: U.S. Race and Ethnicity; Africa Americans; Native Americans; American West; Comparative Slavery and Emancipation