Anna Lathrop

Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President, Students

Anna H. Lathrop was appointed Vice-Provost, Teaching and Learning effective August 1, 2012. In this inaugural position, she assumed oversight of the Centre for Pedagogical Innovation. In 2016, her portfolio was expanded to include four additional administrative units: Student Life; Student Success; Student Accessibility and Wellness; and Co-op, Career and Experiential Education. As the Vice Provost, Teaching, Learning and Student Success, her portfolio took on the responsibility for coordinating initiatives designed to enhance the University’s teaching, learning and student success culture.

In 2020, a new Students portfolio was created, and her position titled changed to Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President, Students. She currently heads up a unit intensely focused on supporting students on non-academic issues and enhancing the student experience. Lathrop oversees the units of Student Life and Community Experience, Student Wellness and Accessibility, Student Success Centre, Residence Life, Recreation and Youth Programs, and Brock Sports.

The position reports to the Provost and Vice-President Academic, and she sits on the University’s Senior Administrative Council.

A Brock University graduate, Lathrop first joined Brock in 1989 as a lecturer in the Department of Physical Education. She subsequently served as Chair of Department of Physical Education and Kinesiology (2000-2003); Chair of the Department of Recreation and Leisure Studies (2003-2004); two terms as Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies in the Faculty of Applied Health Sciences (2005-2008; 2009-2012); and as Interim Dean, Faculty of Applied Health Sciences (2008-2009).

Anna received her BPhEd from Brock University in 1978, her MA from the University of Western Ontario in 1989, and Ed.D in the Department of History and Philosophy at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto in 1997.

Lathrop’s distinctions and awards include:

  • Brock University Chancellor’s Chair for Teaching Excellence (2012)
  • Leadership in Faculty Teaching Award from Ontario Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities (2007-2008)
  • Faculty of Applied Health Sciences’ Distinguished Alumna Award (2008)
  • 3M Teaching Fellowship Award of Canada (2001)
  • Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Association Award for Outstanding Contribution to University Teaching (2000)
  • Brock University Distinguished Teaching Award (2000)