Faculty and Staff

Faculty of Humanities




Faculty and Staff

Department of Classics

Permanent Faculty

Michael J. Carter
Associate Professor, Roman History and Latin
Office: GLN-B 312
Extension: 3796
Email: mjcarter@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Tues 2:00-3:00, or by appointment

Fanny Dolansky

Associate Professor, Roman Social History, Latin Literature, and Roman Religion
Office: GLN-B 317
Extension: 5372
Email: fdolansky@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 3:30-4:30, or by appointment

Allison Glazebrook

Associate Professor, Greek Social and Cultural History
Department Chair
Office: GLN-B 310
Extension: 3319/3575
Email: aglazebrook@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon 1:00-3:00, or by appointment
 
Elizabeth S. Greene

Associate Professor, Greek Art and Archaeology
Undergraduate Program Officer 
Office: GLN-B 315
Extension: 5373
Email: esgreene@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon & Wed 1:00-2:00, or by appointment

Carol U. Merriam

Professor, Latin Poetry
Associate Dean (Humanities), Graduate Studies and Research
Office: GLN-B 323
Extension: 3320/3575
Email: merriamc@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon 9:15-10:00, or by appointment

Carrie A. Murray

Assistant Professor, Roman Art and Archaeology
Office: GLN-B 327
Extension: 6238
Email: cmurray@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Tues 3:00-4:00, Thurs 2:00-3:00, or by appointment

Roberto Nickel

Assistant Professor, Greek Epic and Mythology
Graduate Program Director
Office: GLN-B 325
Extension: 4158
Email: rnickel@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon & Wed 11:30-12:00, or by appointment

Richard W. Parker

Associate Professor, Greek Language and Literature, Greek History
Office: GLN-B 321
Extension: 5206
Email: rparker@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Tues 5:00-8:00, or by appointment

R. Angus K. Smith

Associate Professor, Greek Archaeology
Office: GLN-B 313
Extension: 3798
Email: rsmith@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon 11:00-12:00, Tues 1:00-2:00, or by appointment

Katharine T. von Stackelberg

Associate Professor, Ancient Environment, Latin, Roman History
Office: GLN-B 319
Extension: 5374
Email: kvonstackelberg@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Tues 2:00-3:00, or by appointment
 

Part-time Faculty Fall/Winter 2014-2015

Nadine Brundrett
Office: GLN-B 347
Extension:  4427
Instructor: CLAS 1P91 (fall), CLAS/INTC 2P34 (winter), CLAS/VISA 3P25 (winter)
Email: nbrundrett@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Wed 12:00-1:00, or by appointment

Anton Jansen

Office: GLN-B 347
Extension: 4251
Instructor: CLAS 1P95 (fall), CLAS 1P97 (winter), CLAS 2P40 (winter)
Email: ajansen@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Tues 1:00-2:00, Wed 10:00-11:30, or by appointment

Jim Lynd

Office: GLN-B 349
Extension: 6072
Instructor: CLAS 2P00 (fall), CLAS/LART 3P13 (fall)
Email: jlynd@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon 10:00-12:00, or by appointment

Sarah Parker

Office: GLN-B 345
Extension: 4530
Instructor: GREE 1F00 (fall), LATI 4P21 (fall), CLAS 1P94 (winter), CLAS/DART/LART 3P14 (winter) 
Email: sparker@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Tues & Wed 11:00-11:50, or by appointment


Emeritus Faculty 

Noel Robertson
Professor Emeritus, Greek History and Greek Religion
Email: noelrobertson@shaw.ca

David W. Rupp
Professor Emeritus, Greek Archaeology
Email: drupp@brocku.ca

 

Staff

Barb Chatwin
Administrative Assistant
Office: GLN-B 309
Extension: 3575
Email: classics@brocku.ca
Office Hours:  Monday through Friday 8:30 am-12:00 pm, 1:00-4:30 pm

Tarah Csaszar

Course Co-ordinator for CLAS 1P91 & CLAS 1P92 (fall/winter 2014-2015)
Office: GLN-B 337
Extension: 6296
E-mail: tcsaszar@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon 11:00-1:00, or by appointment

Diane van Riezen

Course Co-ordinator for CLAS 1P95 & CLAS 1P97 (fall/winter 2014-2015)
Office: GLN-B 337
Extension: 6105
Email: dvanriezen@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon 2:00-4:00, Tues 1:00-2:00, or by appointment

Liz Hay

Faculty of Humanities Undergraduate Advisor
Office: MC A311
Extension: 5101
E-mail: lhay@brocku.ca
Book an appointment with Liz

Two male professors holding paper elaborate hairstyles and drinking cups

Michael Carter and Angus Smith enjoying the 2013 Saturnalia party

Classics Events

BUAS trip to the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto
October 25, 2014 - 8:00am - 6:30pm
Thesis Defence for MA Candidate in Classics
October 28, 2014 - 9:00am - 12:00pm