Faculty and Staff

Full-time Faculty

Michael J. Carter
Professor, Greek and Roman History, and Latin
Office: GLB 312
Extension: 3796
Email: mjcarter@brocku.ca
Office Hours:
Fridays 13:00-14:00
or by appointment

Fanny Dolansky
Associate Professor, Roman Social History, Latin Literature, and Roman Religion
Undergraduate Program Officer
Office: GLB 317
Extension: 5372
Email: fdolansky@brocku.ca
Office Hours:
Wednesdays 15:45-17:00 (in person)
or by appointment (MS Teams or in person)

Allison Glazebrook (on Leave)
Professor, Greek Social and Cultural History
Office: GLB 313
Extension: 3319
Email: aglazebrook@brocku.ca
Office Hours:
On sabbatical until June 30, 2023

Elizabeth S. Greene
Professor, Greek Art and Archaeology, Maritime Archaeology
Office: GLB 315
Extension: 5373
Email: egreene@brocku.ca
Office Hours:
Mondays & Wednesdays 13:00-14:00
or by appointment

Carol U. Merriam
Professor, Latin Poetry
Dean, Faculty of Humanities
Office: MC A310
Extension: 4562
Email: merriamc@brocku.ca

Carrie Ann Murray
Associate Professor, Art and Archaeology
Office: GLB 327
Extension: 6238
Email: cmurray@brocku.ca
Office Hours:
Email to schedule an appointment

Roberto Nickel
Assistant Professor, Greek Epic and Mythology
Graduate Program Director
Office: GLB 325
Extension: 4158
Email: rnickel@brocku.ca
Office Hours:
Email to schedule an appointment

Adam C. Rappold
Assistant Professor, Ancient Drama and Performance, Greek Religion
Office: GLB 323
Extension: 6367
Email: arappold@brocku.ca
Office Hours:
Mondays 15:00-16:00 (Teams)
Wednesdays 15:00-16:00 (in person)
Fridays 13:00-14:00 (in person)
or by appointment

R. Angus K. Smith
Professor, Greek Archaeology
Office: GLB 319
Extension: 3798
Email: rsmith@brocku.ca
Office Hours:
Mondays & Thursdays 11:00-12:00
or by appointment

Katharine T. von Stackelberg
Associate Professor, Ancient Environment, Latin, Roman History
Department Chair
Office: GLB 310
Extension: 5374
Email: kvonstackelberg@brocku.ca
Office Hours: 
Mondays 14:30-15:30
or by appointment

Sessional Faculty

Nadine Brundrett

2022-2023 teaching
Fall: CLAS 3P31
Winter: CLAS/WGST/HIST 2P61, CLAS/VISA 3P25

Office: GLB 321
Extension: 4427
Email:nbrundrett@brocku.ca
Office Hours:
Tuesdays & Fridays 13:00-13:30
or by appointment

Anton Jansen

2022-2023 teaching
Fall: GREE 1F00, CLAS 2P93
Winter: GREE 1F00, CLAS 1P97

Office: GLB 321
Extension: 4251
Email: ajansen@brocku.ca
Office Hours:
Tuesdays & Thursdays 11:00-12:00
or by appointment

Sarah Parker

2022-2023 teaching
Fall: Not teaching this term.
Winter: LATI 2P02

Office: GLB 329
Extension: 4942
Email:sparker@brocku.ca
Office Hours:
Email to schedule an appointment.

photo coming soon

Margaret Erskine

2022-2023 teaching
Fall: LATI 2P01
Winter: CLAS 1P94

Office: GLB 329
Extension: 6105
Email: merskine@brocku.ca
Office Hours:
Email to schedule an appointment.

Flavia Vasconcellos Amaral

2022-2023 teaching
Fall: Not teaching this term.
Winter: CLAS 3P16

Office: TBA
Extension: TBA
Email: TBA
Office Hours:
TBA

Administration

Jordan Hawman 
Administrative Assistant
Office: GLB 309
Extension: 3575
Email: classics@brocku.ca
Office Hours:
Monday to Friday
08:00-12:00 & 13:00-16:00

Liz Hay
Faculty of Humanities Academic Adviser
Office: MC A311
Extension: 5101
Email: lhay@brocku.ca

To book an appointment, please go the Faculty of Humanities Academic Advising page and follow the instructions listed there.

Retired and Emeritus Faculty

Richard W. Parker
Associate Professor (retired), Greek Language and Literature, Greek History
Email: rparker@brocku.ca

David W. Rupp
Professor Emeritus, Greek Archaeology
Email: drupp@brocku.ca

Faculty In Memoriam

 

Danielle A. Parks
Associate Professor, Roman Art and Archaeology
1965-2007

 

Noel D. Robertson
Professor Emeritus, Greek History and Religion
1936-2019