People in the Department

Staff

Dr. Kendra Coulter
Department Chair 
Office: PLZ 331
905-688-5550 x5349
kcoulter@brocku.ca

Elizabeth Wasylowich
Administrative Assistant
Office: MC D411
905-688-5550 x4753
Labour.Studies@brocku.ca

Diane Leon
Academic Advisor
Office: PLZ 326
905-688-5550 x4245
dleon@brocku.ca

Core Faculty

Dr. Simon Black
Assistant Professor, Labour Studies
Office: PLZ 333
905-688-5550 x5350
simon.black@brocku.ca

  • Care work, social reproduction, and resistance
  • Community unionism and ‘alt-labour’
  • Unions, urban policymaking, and urban neoliberalism
  • Athletic labour, workers’ rights and activism in high-performance sport

Dr. Alison Braley-Rattai
Assistant Professor, Labour Studies
Office: PLZ 334
905-688-5550 x6651
abraleyrattai@brocku.ca

My areas of research and teaching expertise include the interaction of labour rights and the Charter, industrial relations, labour and employment law, as well as human rights in the workplace.

Dr. Kendra Coulter
Associate Professor, Department Chair, and Chancellor’s Chair for Research Excellence
Office: PLZ 331
905-688-5550 x5349
kcoulter@brocku.ca

My current research is on multispecies labour, especially human-horse work, interspecies solidarity, and what I call humane jobs: work that is good for both people and animals. I have an ongoing interest in political labour and strategies for improving retail work and reducing the gender wage gap.

Dr. Paul Christopher Gray
Assistant Professor, Labour Studies
Office: PLZ 340
905-688-5550 x5419
pgray2@brocku.ca

In general, I study the history of theories and practices of justice, as well as democratic theory and social inequality. Recently, my research has focused on the role of public sector workers in democratizing governance and administration, and on new forms of labour organizing among precarious workers in the airline industry. In 2017, I received the Dissertation Prize from York University. My edited volume, From the Streets to the State: Changing the World by Taking Power (State University of New York Press 2018), will be released in paperback in 2019.

Dr. Larry Savage
Professor, Labour Studies
Office: PLZ 329
905-688-5550 x5007
lsavage@brocku.ca

My research focuses primarily on the politics of organized labour in Canada. Recent research has revolved around the changing nature of party-union relations, the strategic use of rights discourse and the constitutional politics of labour.

Participating faculty

Jonah Butovsky
Associate Professor, Sociology
Office: AS 406
905-688-5550 x4371
jbutovsky@brocku.ca

My teaching involves quantitative methods and political sociology. I am currently working on a project that examines the political potential of Canadian popular music and another that studies the effects of left-nationalism on the development of Canadian socialism.

Tami Friedman
Associate Professor, History
Office: GLN 225
905-688-5550 x3709
tfriedman@brocku.ca

My research focuses on the causes and consequences of economic restructuring in the post-World War II United States, with an emphasis on how capital migration and deindustrialization have transformed workers, communities, industrial policy (at the local, state, regional, and federal levels), and national politics.

Felice Martinello
Professor, Economics 
Office: PLZ 433
905-688-5550 x3329
fmartinello@brocku.ca

My most recent work in a traditional area of labour studies examined faculty salaries in Ontario universities and the effects of unionization versus other forms of collective representation.  My current work focuses on post-secondary education, with particular emphasis on the different educational routes that students take while in post-secondary education and the factors related to students’ decisions to continue in their programs, change programs or institutions, or withdraw.

Michelle Webber
Associate Professor, Sociology
Office: STH 420
905-688-5550 x4411
mwebber@brocku.ca

My research is in the area of the sociology of higher education with a focus on the regulation of academic work. Recent research investigates the regulation of academic work (the production of knowledge, forms of knowledge) in the context of accountability governance.

Part-Time Instructors

John Barkans
jbarkans@brocku.ca
PLZ 342

Tim Fowler
tfowler@brocku.ca
PLZ 344

Laura Harris
lharris@brocku.ca
PLZ 336

Jordan House
jhouse@brocku.ca
PLZ 336

Kaitlin Peters
PLZ 338

Melissa St. Germaine-Small
mstgermainesmal@brocku.ca
MC D332

Brad Walchuk
bwalchuk@brocku.ca
PLZ 342

Professor Emeritus

Ann Duffy
Professor, Labour Studies/Sociology

Daniel Glenday
Professor, Labour Studies/Sociology