Brock scholarships support 59 Niagara high school grads

MEDIA RELEASE: 19 May 2022 – R0054

Nearly 60 local high school students have received a boost from Brock University that will help them pursue their post-secondary dreams.

For the seventh consecutive year, the University has presented the Niagara Principal’s Scholarships to two students from nearly every public, Catholic and private secondary school in the region. The entrance scholarships are given to graduating high school students who have demonstrated not only high academic results, but also strong community engagement.

Brock welcomed this year’s recipients to campus on Tuesday, May 17 for a ceremony in their honour, following two years of virtual presentations.

Since the award’s inception, the University has contributed more than $1 million to local high school students, including $147,500 in funding for 2022.

The scholarships are intended to not only provide students support on their academic journey, but to also nurture their continued development as engaged citizens, said Brock Interim President and Vice-Chancellor Lynn Wells.

“Brock is committed to the future of the Niagara region and that includes investing in the leaders of tomorrow,” she said. “We’re proud to support these talented young individuals on their paths to success and look forward to all that they will accomplish in the coming years as they continue to grow their involvement locally and on campus.”

Ben Walker, who graduates this spring from Port Colborne High School, was honoured to receive the scholarship and have his efforts both in school and in the community recognized.

“It was amazing to be able to have that experience, engaging with other future Brock leaders,” he said of Tuesday’s event. “I am looking forward to becoming a Brock student.”

Walker will begin his time in the University’s Concurrent Education program this fall.

“I chose Brock because I love the feel of the campus,” he said. “It feels like I can be my truest self at Brock University.”

Walker said he hopes to hit the ground running in September, joining extracurricular activities and student life initiatives on campus, and further developing his leadership skills through various Brock opportunities.

In addition to being individually honoured at the ceremony, scholarship recipients were each gifted an awards box filled with Brock University gear and items to get their post-secondary experience off on the right foot.

“It was so exciting for everyone involved to be able to honour this year’s group in person,” said Carly Dugo, Recruitment Officer, Campus Initiatives. “This was our chance to give these rising stars a warm Brock welcome while recognizing their efforts in front of their families and future peers.”

The scholarships were presented as part of Brock’s inaugural Niagara Applicants’ Reception, held to welcome local applicants to campus to get a taste of their future Brock experience. Similar events are held in communities across Ontario, connecting applicants with Brock ambassadors to talk about the next steps in their journey.

Recipients of the 2022 Niagara Principal’s Scholarships:

  • Paris Klym, A.N. Myer Secondary School
  • Victoria Wiggins A.N. Myer Secondary School
  • Anesuishe (Samantha) Gaka, Beamsville District Secondary School
  • Kimberlyn Kulawic, Beamsville District Secondary School
  • Joseph Cino, Blessed Trinity Catholic School
  • Samantha Farmer, Blessed Trinity Catholic School
  • Elyse Brzoza, Denis Morris Catholic School
  • Amal Hamid, Denis Morris Catholic School
  • Olivia Zych, Denis Morris Catholic School
  • Hinkal Patel, DSBN Academy
  • Anastasha Raphael, DSBN Academy
  • Mackenna Belding, E.L. Crossley Secondary School
  • Joshua Gibson, E.L. Crossley Secondary School
  • Paul Lowry, Eastdale Secondary School
  • Danny Winger, Eastdale Secondary School
  • Jilian Babin, École Secondaire Catholique Saint Jean de Brébeuf
  • Emma St. Aubin, École Secondaire Catholique Saint Jean de Brébeuf
  • Austin Morrison, Eden High School
  • Hasan Rana, Eden High School
  • Liam Anderson, Governor Simcoe Secondary School
  • Riley Hutton, Greater Fort Erie Secondary School
  • Jada Schoenhals, Greater Fort Erie Secondary School
  • Liam Walker, Great Lakes Christian High School
  • Oluwasemilore Olumuyiwa, Great Lakes Christian High School
  • Sophie Della Manna, Grimsby Secondary School
  • Ada Fast, Grimsby Secondary School
  • Rochelle Bautista, Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School
  • Nina McGregor, Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School
  • Ryan Anderson, Lakeshore Catholic High School
  • Ella Robert, Lakeshore Catholic High School
  • Lauren Fleming, Laura Secord Secondary School
  • Olivia Nwaeze, Laura Secord Secondary School
  • Xavier Stephens, Niagara Christian Collegiate
  • Tiana Stukel, Notre Dame College School
  • Colsen Tirpko, Notre Dame College School
  • Mackenzie Ellis, Port Colborne High School
  • Benjamin Walker, Port Colborne High School
  • Lucas Vigna, Ridley College
  • Aidan Serravalle, Robert Land Academy
  • Kevin Edgar, Saint Francis Catholic Secondary School
  • Eliza Mouradikian, Saint Francis Catholic Secondary School
  • Giuliana Carbonara, Saint Michael Catholic High School
  • Nathan Fehr, Saint Michael Catholic High School
  • Maggie Huang, Saint Paul Catholic High School
  • Owen Yazaroglu, Saint Paul Catholic High School
  • Megan Barker, Sir Winston Churchill Secondary School
  • Connor Fraser, Sir Winston Churchill Secondary School
  • Lauren Thiessen, Smithville District Christian High School
  • Melanie VanderWier, Smithville District Christian High School
  • Kyra Ejercito, St. Catharines Collegiate
  • Kai Wen (Cody) Lau, St. Catharines Collegiate
  • Christian Campisano, Stamford Collegiate
  • Hannah Lord, Stamford Collegiate
  • Luke Edmonds, Thorold Secondary School
  • Sadeen Kalbouna, Thorold Secondary School
  • Tomi Olooto, Welland Centennial Secondary School
  • Victoria Tessier, Welland Centennial Secondary School
  • Sueva Falcone, Westlane Secondary School
  • Tirth Patel, Westlane Secondary School

For more information or for assistance arranging interviews:

* Doug Hunt, Communications and Media Relations Specialist, Brock University or 905-941-6209 

– 30 –

Categories: Media releases