In accordance with the Brock University Act, the Senate is responsible for the educational policy of the University, and, with the approval of the Board in so far as expenditure of funds is concerned, may enact by-laws and regulations for the conduct of its affairs.

Senate Meeting Schedule 2023-24

Senate Membership 2023-24

Senate Committee Membership 2023-24

The University has the power to establish and maintain such faculties, schools, institutes, departments, chairs, and courses as the Senate deems necessary and as approved with respect to finances and facilities by the Board.

The Senate currently consists of 72 members. This includes 39 elected full-time teaching staff and professional librarians (see guidelines), and, two members of the Board of Trustees, six undergraduate and two graduate students. There are also 23 ex officio members of Senate including one Alumni Association representative elected by their respective constituencies.

The Senate meets monthly from September to June to conduct its business. Its eight standing committees, one special committee and one board meet to conduct business that is brought forward to Senate as recommendations or for information. The Committees include:

  • Governance
  • Graduate Studies
  • Information Technology and Infrastructure
  • Planning, Priorities and Budget Advisory Committee
  • Research and Scholarship Policy
  • Teaching and Learning Policy
  • Undergraduate Program
  • Undergraduate Student Affairs
  • Student Appeals Board
  • Academic Review (special committee)
  • Two Row Council (special committee)

An overview of the responsibilities of each Senate Committee is available here.

The Faculty Handbook acts as a procedural, operational and policy manual for the Senate and is divided into three main sections including University Government, Senate Bylaws and Academic Regulations.