Alumni receive distinguished honours at Homecoming celebration

Brock University welcomed hundreds of alumni back to campus this past weekend to not only reminisce and reconnect, but also to recognize the outstanding contributions graduates have gone on to make in their careers and respective communities.

As part of the four-day Homecoming celebration, 10 graduates received distinguished honours from the University’s six Faculties and the Brock University Alumni Association (BUAA) during the annual Alumni Recognition Reception Saturday, Sept. 24.

Among the recipients was two-time Brock graduate, Christina Le Rose (BA ’07, BEd ’10), who was presented with the 2022 Distinguished Alumni Award for leading an inspiring career as an international award-winning classical pianist dedicated to enriching and transforming the lives of others through music and education.

Le Rose’s parents immigrated to Canada from Southern Italy at a time when education beyond the fifth grade was an inaccessible right for many economically disadvantaged Italians

A man stands on stage while speaking to an audience in a well-lit indoor space.

Terry Cockerline, Director, Alumni Relations shares welcoming remarks to attendees of the annual Alumni Recognition Reception event on Saturday, Sept. 24 during Brock University’s 2022 Homecoming celebration.

“Growing up in a family with limited educational opportunities, I was taught that a post-secondary education was the key to success,” Le Rose said. “For me, Brock University was that key.”

As a young adult, she was determined to pursue a double major in Music and French with a minor in Italian. Le Rose said other institutions deemed her dreams too difficult to achieve, but Brock presented her with opportunities to explore her potential.

“Other institutions wanted to have me, but only if I chose one field of study. Brock University said ‘yes’ when every other university said no,” she said.

While her extensive career has taken her around the world, her roots are still firmly planted in the Niagara region as an avid supporter of her community. Over the past two decades, Le Rose has given hundreds of free performances at churches, schools, libraries, services clubs, military bases and retirement residences in the region and throughout Canada. She has also used her musical talents to help improve the lives of others by donating proceeds from benefit concerts to charitable organizations.

Along with the honour given to Le Rose, several other awards were also presented.

Asad Jalib (BBA ’20) received the 2022 Outstanding Young Alumni Award for his contributions to his industry as the co-founder of DirtMarket, one of the fastest growing businesses in the soil marketplace dedicated to combating illegal dumping challenges in Ontario. In January of this year, his company was ranked No. 8 in the Top 100 Tech Companies to Watch in Canada by Founders Beta after less than one year in business.

Brock alumnus Jeremy Ferdman (BA ’09) was honoured with the BUAA’s 2022 Community Engagement Award for co-founding Artists in Residence, a not-for-profit theatrical platform for a diverse and inclusive creative community of more than 100 volunteers.

The 2022 David S. Betzner award was presented to Christopher Yendt (BA ’15, BEd ’15, BEd ’20, MEd ’21) for their decade-long commitment to serving their alma mater and the greater Brock community.

As a Brock graduate, Director of Alumni Relations Terry Cockerline said he is very proud to be affiliated with those receiving this year’s honours.

“Alumni are the heart and soul of our institution, and we take great pride in recognizing and celebrating their achievements,” he said. “They should never underestimate the impact they have on our University or their communities. Their stories continue to inspire us all.”

The annual event also honoured the University’s 2022 Distinguished Faculty Graduate Award recipients — alumni recognized for earning prominence for their exceptional professional achievements and/or service to society. They include:

  • Faculty of Social Sciences — Karen Brown (BA ’91)
  • Faculty of Humanities — Jordin Hall (BA ’10)
  • Goodman School of Business — Rhonda Klosler (BBA ’93)
  • Faculty of Applied Health Sciences — Scott McRoberts (BSM ’02)
  • Faculty of Mathematics and Science — Paul Hubley (BSc ’91)
  • Faculty of Education — Brendan Browne (PhD ’13)

A series of articles featuring each Faculty recipient will be published on The Brock News in the coming days.

Nominations for the 2023 Distinguished Alumni Awards are being accepted on the Alumni website until Jan. 31.

Read more stories in: Alumni, Applied Health Sciences, Business, Community, Education, Faculty & staff, Featured, Graduate Studies, Humanities, Mathematics and Science, News, People
Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,