Nominations open for annual teaching awards

Note: The deadline to submit nominations for the annual teaching awards has been extended to Monday, Nov. 12 at 4 p.m.

The Centre for Pedagogical Innovation (CPI) is calling on the Brock community to nominate University instructors for three annual teaching awards.

The deadline to submit nominations for the 2018 Award for Excellence in Teaching for Early Career Faculty Award, the Clarke Thomson Award for Excellence in Sessional Teaching and the Don Ursino Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Large Classes is Monday, Nov. 12.

While each award recognizes teaching excellence in a distinct category, the efforts and commitment of recipients also highlight commonalities in teaching at the post-secondary level.

CPI Director Jill Grose said the awards are indicative of the high standard of teaching that is taking place at Brock.

“Instructors here are committed to teaching in innovative ways,” she said. “These nominations allow us to recognize and share a wide variety of instructional practices that really engage and inspire students.”

Nominees submit a dossier that showcases their teaching background and provides support from colleagues and students.

Although the dossier requires a variety of documentation, Grose said it often serves as a helpful reflection exercise for nominees.

“The act of compiling a teaching dossier can be somewhat intimidating but it can also help shape our understanding of who we are as educators,” she said. “We learn from the process as well as the product.”

Awards will be presented at the annual Tribute to Teaching on Wednesday, Dec. 5.

Nomination information for all three awards can be found in the Faculty Awards section of the CPI website.

Read more stories in: Briefs, Teaching & Learning
Tagged with: , , , , ,