Niagara high school grads get boost from Brock scholarships

Nearly 60 recent high school graduates from across Niagara gathered together virtually Wednesday, July 7 as they were celebrated for their accomplishments by Brock University.

The 2021 recipients of the University’s Niagara Principal’s Scholarships, which are presented to two students from nearly every private, public and Catholic high school in the region, each received a portion of the $140,000 distributed this year.

Recipients were individually honoured during the virtual event, which their families, principals and guidance counsellors were also invited to attend.

Guests heard from a panel of current Brock students and past scholarship recipients, who shared their own University experiences, and learned about leadership and engagement opportunities, as well as transition programs.

Interim Brock President Lynn Wells said the nearly $1 million in funds given to Niagara Principal’s scholars since the program began in 2016 is representative of the University’s commitment to the region and its young people.

“Brock is proud to support and celebrate the success of students from across the region,” Wells said. “These bright young minds are the leaders of tomorrow, and we’re excited to see all they will accomplish on their journey as engaged members of both the Brock and Niagara communities.”

Delivering the funds to recipients has also become an important part of the calendar for Geraldine Jones, University Registrar and Associate Vice-President, Enrolment Services, and her team.

“We are so proud to recognize high-achieving students in Niagara and we anticipate the positive impact they have on our campus each year,” Jones said.

In addition to the scholarships, award winners also received a box of Brock gear, including a T-shirt, water bottle and lanyard to start them off on the right foot when they arrive at the University this fall.

Carly Dugo, Recruitment Officer, Campus Initiatives, said the boxes provide a tangible connection for scholarship winners to feel like they are officially Brock students.

“We wanted to make sure the recipients felt some extra appreciation, and all of the items in the box will definitely be useful for them when they start their studies this fall,” she said. “We can’t wait to see all of the winners wearing their new Brock gear when they begin their classes.”

The 2020-21 cohort of Niagara Principal’s Scholarships recipients includes:

Holly Farquharso, A.N. Myer Secondary School

Tucker Raina, A.N. Myer Secondary School

Abbey Parker, Beamsville District Secondary School

Evan Rolston, Beamsville District Secondary School

Brooke Metelsky, Blessed Trinity Catholic School

Alexandra Negus, Blessed Trinity Catholic School

Jayden Cruz, Denis Morris Catholic School

Connor Wright, Denis Morris Catholic School

Aliya Aragon, DSBN Academy

Maya Lindsay, DSBN Academy

Deanna Stickney, E.L. Crossley Secondary School

Parker Triano, E.L. Crossley Secondary School

Isabelle Stark-Pelisek, Eastdale Secondary School

Chantal Fortier, École Secondaire Catholique Jean Vanier

Calvin Hendriks, École Secondaire Catholique Jean Vanier

Julia Eccles, Eden High School

Amy McMillan, Eden High School

Allison Addy, Governor Simcoe Secondary School

Sarah Rupcic, Governor Simcoe Secondary School

Zoe Thibault, Great Lakes Christian High School

Nathalie Vasquez, Great Lakes Christian High School

Morgan Hoover, Greater Fort Erie Secondary School

Michael Willey, Greater Fort Erie Secondary School

Maya Koot, Grimsby Secondary School

Emma Ratke, Grimsby Secondary School

Andrea Dekorte, Heritage Christian School

Madelyn Ybema, Heritage Christian School

Calleigh Cunningham, Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School

Thuan Tran, Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School

Natasha Eckhardt, Jordan Christian School

Alexander Deangelis, Lakeshore Catholic High School

Megan Sardella, Lakeshore Catholic High School

Liam Panici, Laura Secord Secondary School

Lucy Teminski, Laura Secord Secondary School

Emily Hamann, Notre Dame College School

Abigale Phillips, Notre Dame College School

Parker Lampman, Port Colborne High School

Madelyn Crawford, Sir Winston Churchill Secondary School

Joseph Thompson, Sir Winston Churchill Secondary School

Ashley Scholman, Smithville District Christian High School

Emily Stiff, Smithville District Christian High School

Daniela Solis Gomez, St. Catharines Collegiate

Molly Nullmeyer, Saint. Francis Catholic Secondary School

Maceo Tripodi, Saint Francis Catholic Secondary School

Thia Dryden, Saint Michael Catholic High School

Khoi Nguyen Vu, Saint Michael Catholic High School

Nicholas Caruso, Saint Paul Catholic High School

Sumin Oh, Saint Paul Catholic High School

Emily Douglas, Stamford Collegiate

Madison Ruddell, Stamford Collegiate

Blayden Burrows, Thorold Secondary School

Chantel Dionne, Thorold Secondary School

Kristy Cutler, Welland Centennial Secondary School

Jackson McNeil, Welland Centennial Secondary School

Andrew Dinh, Westlane Secondary School

Marko Zivkovic, Westlane Secondary School

Read more stories in: Community, Featured, Front Page, News, People
Tagged with: , , , , , , ,