Goodman School to honour business leader Julia Deans

Prominent lawyer and business leader Julia Deans has been selected as the Goodman School of Business 2018 Distinguished Leader.

Deans will share her passion for entrepreneurship and children’s literacy when she addresses the Brock community at the University on Wednesday, Oct. 3.

Each year, the Goodman School of Business honours prominent Canadian business leaders and connects the recipients with Goodman students and the Brock community.

Deans’ career has been dedicated to tackling social and economic challenges. She is CEO of the Canadian Children’s Literacy Foundation, a non-profit organization that aims to ensure all Canadian children are skilled and confident readers by the end of grade school. With a passion for entrepreneurial start-ups, Deans has served as CEO of Futurpreneur Canada and was the founding CEO of Civic Action, where she built the influential organization from an initial project.

“I’m very proud to have Julia Deans being recognized as a distinguished leader,” says Goodman Dean Andrew Gaudes. “Her presence and influence with youth entrepreneurship has transformed Canada’s next generation of innovators and business leaders through her work with Futurpreneur.

“Now, her role as CEO of the Canadian Children’s Literacy Foundation gives all of us great optimism that our youth will be even more prepared for personal fulfilment, leading to a better place for us to live.”

Deans, who has twice been named one of Canada’s Top 100 Powerful Women, says she’s deeply honoured to be recognized for her own leadership contributions.

“I’m looking forward to speaking with students about the changing world of work and to sharing some of the timeless lessons I have learned about leadership and reinvention,” Deans says.

Deans will spend the day on campus speaking with small groups of Goodman students. She will also deliver the annual Distinguished Leader Lecture to students, faculty and members of the Brock community.

Her address will take place in the Goodman School of Business Atrium at 2:30 p.m. As spaced is limited, people who wish to attend are asked to register online.

Past recipients of the Distinguished Leader award include Deepak Chopra, retired President and CEO of Canada Post, Martine Irman of TD Bank Group, Rossana Magnotta of Magnotta Winery, Len Pennachetti of Cave Spring Cellars and Ned Goodman of Dundee Corporation, among others.

Read more stories in: Business, Featured, News, People
Tagged with: , ,