Dr. Gervan Fearon to be installed as Brock’s sixth President

For the sixth time in its history, Brock University will install a new President and Vice-Chancellor on Friday during its Fall Convocation ceremony.

Dr. Gervan Fearon began his five-year term as University President on Aug. 1, but the ceremonial instalment always takes place during the first ceremony of the Spring or Fall Convocation that follows a President’s start date.

For Fearon, who previously served as President of Brandon University in Manitoba from 2014 to 2017, the instalment will take place at 10 a.m. Friday, Oct. 13 in Brock’s Ian Beddis Gymnasium.

Fearon follows in a line of Brock Presidents that includes James Gibson (1965-73), Alan Earp (1973-88), Terrence White (1988-1997), David Atkinson (1997-05) and Jack Lightstone (2007-16).

Brock’s Fall Convocation will include two ceremonies on Friday starting at 10 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. The afternoon ceremony will see Niagara business leader Tom Rankin receive an honorary doctorate and deliver the convocation address.

Among the distinguished teaching and student awards being handed out during the two ceremonies are the Governor General’s Silver Medalist awards — given to the two students with the highest cumulative overall average of all graduates in either the Spring or Fall ceremonies.

Stephanie Beni (Physical Education) and Jessica She-Ting Wong (Child Health) are graduating with overall averages of 97 per cent and 96 per cent, respectively. Both will receive their awards during the afternoon ceremony.

Read more stories in: Alumni, Applied Health Sciences, Business, Education, Featured, Front Page, Graduate Studies, Humanities, Mathematics and Science, News, People, Social Sciences
Tagged with: , ,