Former trustees given honorary positions

Three former University trustees who recently concluded their terms on the Board of Trustees have been appointed as Trustees Emeriti.

Joe Robertson, Allan Cole (a member of Brock’s first-ever graduating class in 1967) and Nick DiPietro have all accepted the honorary position and title after their nominations were approved by the Board at its Sept. 29 meeting.

All three of them retired as trustees last June 30. Robertson had served 10 years on the Board, including terms as Chair and Vice-Chair. DePietro, also a former Vice-Chair, was first elected to the Board in 2010, as was Cole. In addition to serving on the Board, all three trustees have been generous supporters of the University and have provided considerable support for Brock initiatives.

The title of Trustee Emeritus was established in 2007 as a way for the Board to recognize distinguished and meritorious service from people who had served lengthy terms on the Board. There have now been 18 such appointments to the non-voting role that allows the Board to consult with and seek advice from people with considerable experience at Brock and in the community.

Read more stories in: Alumni, Briefs, People, Surgite