Information session to focus on Ontario’s Early Researcher Awards program

Are you an early career faculty member or principal investigator? Are you looking to build a research team and need funding to do so?

The Ontario government’s Early Research Award may be for you.

The Early Researcher Awards program gives funding to new researchers working at publicly funded Ontario research institutions to build a research team that include undergraduate and graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, technicians, research assistants and others.

Past recipients from Brock include Associate Professor in the Department of Earth Sciences Mariek Schmidt and Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry Theocharis Stamatatos.

Eligible faculty include those who: started their careers on or after July 1, 2012; have completed their first PhD on or after July 1, 2007; have not already held an Early Research Award; and are not a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair.

The Office of Research Services will be hosting an information session on Round 13 of the Early Researcher Awards program.

Tehani Mott, Senior Policy Advisor with the Ministry of Research, Innovation and Science, will be on campus June 2 to provide:

  •      An overview of the Early Researcher Award Program
  •      Information on the peer review process
  •      Helpful tips on writing a successful application
  •      An opportunity to answer program-related questions

All eligible researchers who are interested in applying to the ERA program this year or in the coming years are strongly encouraged to attend.

The information session will take place in Sankey Chambers beginning at 10 a.m.

For more information on the ERA application process, contact Rebecca Heffernan at ext. 4291 or

Read more stories in: Briefs
Tagged with: , ,