Awards recognize ‘crucial role’ of Residence Life at Brock

Despite what many would argue has been one of the most challenging years in recent memory, students living in Brock University residences worked hard to create a positive atmosphere to be safely enjoyed by all.

Brock’s Department of Residences honoured students for their exceptional contributions to Residence Life during a weeklong virtual celebration.

The 39th annual Residence Awards saw more than 80 honours announced on the Brock Residences’ Instagram from Monday, April 12 to Friday, April 16.

For many students, Residence Life played a “crucial role” in the University experience this past year, said Jamie Fleming, Brock’s Director of Residences.

“The Residence Awards are a celebration of Residence Life. These awards are an opportunity to recognize many of the students who have contributed to making the residence experience so great,” said Fleming. “Although this year was very different in many ways, Residence Life continues to be a vital part of the University experience. This year’s virtual event, and these awards, are just as meaningful as any other year — perhaps even more so.”

This year, the Department of Residences renamed one of its most significant awards to honour Tammy Brown, who worked in the department for 18 years before passing away from cancer in May 2020.

The Tammy Brown Residents Committed to Excellence Award is presented to senior students who have consistently made outstanding contributions to Residence Life.

“We all miss her very much,” Fleming said of Brown in his video introducing the renamed accolade. “We couldn’t think of a more fitting way to honour and recognize the exceptional contributions she made.”

The award’s 2021 recipients — Gagan Brar, Emmett Britton, Jenna Freeland, Robin Johnson and Cassandra Schultz — have served as role models, displayed leadership and showed respect for others.

In addition to recognizing students, the virtual celebration honoured Brittany Gallant, Acting Manager, Residence Life, with the Les McCurdy-Myers Award. The only staff award among the bunch, it recognizes ongoing commitment to the support and development of student leaders at Brock.

Gallant (BA ’15), who is also pursuing her Master of Education at the University, was shocked to discover she was chosen for the meaningful award, which is named after the former longtime Manager of Personal Counselling.

“This award is significant to me as Les McCurdy-Myers took part in training me during my time as a Don and Head Resident on the Residence Life staff during my undergrad here at Brock,” Gallant said. “I am humbled and honoured to be the recipient of this award.”

Gallant was chosen for the honour for working to make residences a positive place, inspiring her colleagues and maintaining residence traditions safely throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.

She credited her teammates for making the most of an unprecedented year.

“I’m grateful to be surrounded by compassionate, kind, caring and dedicated individuals every day, especially throughout this challenging year,” Gallant said. “As I reflect on this year, I know that students, the Residence Life staff and management team, and the Department of Residences staff as a whole showed unparalleled resilience. It’s been hard, I cannot deny that, but having people show up and try their best in the face of the challenges has been inspiring.”

The following is a collection of major award winners:

  • Les McCurdy-Myers Award — Brittany Gallant
  • Student of the Year — Kendall Simon
  • Don of the Year — Hana Mohamed Farook
  • Head Resident of the Year — Jenna Freeland
  • McBride Award — Hayley Bando
  • Coup de View + Cup of Courts Awards — Kirby Cows, Locke Baboons
  • Positive Contributions Award — Riley Dargel
  • Crew Member of the Year — Hayley Bando
  • Tammy Brown Residents Committed to Excellence Award — Gagan Brar, Emmett Britton, Jenna Freeland, Robin Johnson and Cassandra Schultz
  • Residence Life Staff Award — Thuva Kanthappu (Village), Adam Zhang (Quarry View)
  • House/Hall/Court/Block Award — Mohanad Hussaini (Lampman Court), Riley Dargel (Currie Court), Hailey Morgan (Theal Court), Danielle Wellen (Bennet Court), Emily Meyer (Kirby Court), Jonathan Pinos (Butler Block), Madison DiSalvo (McFarland Block), Jackson Cowan (Gzowski Block), Liam Maloney (Robb Block), Kendall Simon (Locke Block), and Kara Rakamnuaykit (Muir Block).

Read more stories in: Alumni, Faculty & staff, News, People
Tagged with: , , , , ,