Senate election process to begin Feb. 24

The process for the election of full-time teaching staff and professional librarians to Brock University’s 2020-21 Senate is due to begin Monday, Feb. 24.

Any member of the full-time teaching staff and any professional librarian is eligible to serve on Senate provided they are not on a leave of three months or longer during the academic year. Senate meets regularly from September to May.

In accordance with the Brock University Act and the Senate Bylaws set out in the Faculty Handbook, any member of the full-time teaching staff and any professional librarian is eligible to vote in the Senate election, whether they are on leave or not at the time of the election. The definition of full-time teaching staff includes all teaching faculty members: tenure-track, probationary, limited term, Department Chairs, Associate Deans, research associates and assistants and post-doctoral appointees, as well as any employee engaged full time in the work of teaching or research.

The electorate list will be distributed on Monday, Feb. 24 and nominations will open at that time. Any corrections to the electorate list may be submitted to the University Secretary within the five days between Monday, Feb. 24, and Monday, March 2 at 9 a.m. Nomination forms signed by the nominee and at least four persons eligible to vote in the election will be due to the Secretary of Senate in the Office of the University Secretariat by 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, March 12, 2020. Candidates are encouraged to submit a candidate statement of a maximum of 200 words, no links, with their nomination, also by 4:30 p.m. on Monday, March 12.

Electronic voting will begin Wednesday, March 18 at 8:30 a.m. and will close at 4:30 p.m. on Monday, March 30. The full election timeline, including the deadline for nomination papers to be received by the University Secretariat, will be set out on the Senate website on Feb. 24.

All eligible members are encouraged to consider service on Senate. For further information on Senate and its committees, please visit the Senate website or email the Secretary of Senate at

Read more stories in: Faculty & staff, News, People
Tagged with: , ,