Badgers win Ontario University Athletics marketing awards

The Brock University Ancillary Services marketing team was recognized by Ontario University Athletics (OUA) on Wednesday, May 15.

The fifth annual OUA CHAMP Awards (Celebrating and Honouring Achievements in Marketing and Promotions) were held in Kingston, where Brock University won awards for Best Social Media Account and Photo of the Year.

Over the past athletic season, the Brock Badgers Instagram account had a 61 per cent increase in followers, which Ancillary Services Marketing Manager Kate Dudley said was a testament to increasing school spirit on campus.

“Our goal as it relates to social media is to enhance and elevate the Brock Badgers brand by producing content that engages both students and the greater community,” said Dudley. “We are inspired daily by the stories and accomplishments of our teams, students-athletes and fans, which makes our job fun.”

The #WeAreBadgers hashtag was introduced this year and sparked 357 per cent growth in engagements numbers (likes, comments, shares) over the previous year.

“We owe a big thank you to all of the Badgers fans, alumni, media outlets and community members for their continued support,” Dudley said.

Also honoured was Stephen Leithwood, Ancillary Services Communications Officer, who received the award for Photo of the Year. It captured the celebratory bronze medal win at the OUA Women’s Fencing Championships that was hosted at Brock University in February.

Complete list of 2019 OUA Honour Award winners

Male Athlete of the Year – Jace Kotsopoulos, Guelph Gryphons; Kadre Gray, Laurentian Voyageurs

Female Athlete of the Year – Theanna Vernon, Ryerson Rams

Male Team of the Year – Carleton Ravens, Basketball

Female Team of the Year – Guelph Gryphons, Hockey; McMaster Marauders, Basketball

Male Coach of the Year – Dave Smart, Carleton Ravens

Female Coach of the Year – Rachel Flanagan, Guelph Gryphons

John McManus Award – Rick Osborne, Laurier Golden Hawks

J.P. Loosemore Award – Chuck Mathies, Western Mustangs

Media Member of Distinction – Rob Massey

Best G1 Championship – 108th Queen’s Cup, Queen’s Gaels

Best G2 Championship – Forsyth Cup, Queen’s Gaels

Best G3 Championship – Badminton, Ontario Tech Ridgebacks

Photo of the Year – Stephen Leithwood, Brock Badgers, Fencing

Best Fan Support Group – #BleedBlue, Toronto Varsity Blues

Best Mascot – True Blue, Toronto Varsity Blues

Best Social Media Account – Brock Badgers (Instagram)

Best Webcast Production – Rams Live, Ryerson Rams

Best Video Feature – The Journey To, Ryerson Rams

Read more stories in: News, Sports
Tagged with: , , , , ,