Spring Convocation to feature first grads from new PhD and Master’s programs

During Spring Convocation ceremonies, June 7 to 10, Brock University will celebrate Master’s and PhD students for their academic and research excellence.

A total of 411 graduate degrees — 16 PhD, 395 Master’s — will be conferred.

Justin Maltese, a MSc student in Computer Science, will receive the prestigious Governor General’s Gold Medal for achieving the highest academic standing at the graduate level. Maltese, of Hamilton, attained a 98.5 average.

Spring Convocation will mark the first graduates from the PhD program in Interdisciplinary Humanities and from the Master’s program in Sustainability Science and Society.

Both programs have been at the forefront of the University’s directions to build transdisciplinary studies and research activities.

Brock established the Interdisciplinary Humanities doctoral program in 2011. The program brings together faculty and students from different disciplines across the University to collaborate on research questions from a variety of perspectives.

The graduate program in Sustainability Science and Society (SSAS) was launched in 2014. The program provides students an opportunity to study the social, economic, political, and biophysical challenges and to consider new ways of thinking about environmental sustainability.

“It’s always a landmark event for newer programs to celebrate the convocation of their first students,” says Mike Plyley, Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies. “These students are like flagbearers. They signify a program’s wider impact as its students move forward to contribute their knowledge, creativity and skills in their field or through other academic and research pursuits.”

This convocation also holds special significance for Plyley as he completes his term as Dean on June 30.

“Convocation days are one of the best days on the job for a Dean,” Plyley says. “I’ve had the privilege to congratulate thousands of graduate students over the past five years. Watching our students cross the stage to accept their master’s or doctoral degrees provides you with a strong indication of the force of their potential in a world that will look to them to make society stronger and better. For a Dean, those are the times when you say to yourself that it just doesn’t get any better than this.”

2016 Convocation awards to Brock graduate students

Governor General’s Gold Medal:

Justin Maltese, Computer Science

Jack M. Miller Excellence in Research Awards

The FGS announces a list of Miller award recipients each year. At the time of graduation, students are given special recognition for the achievement. The following is a list of Miller award recipients who will be acknowledged at Spring Convocation.

Spring 2016 Convocation

Dimitrios Alexandropoulos, Chemistry

William John Gittings, Applied Health Sciences

Malisa Kurtz, Interdisciplinary Humanities

Stefon Jan Ross van Noordt, Psychology

Zahid Mohammad Rahman, Management

Phillip Wallace, Applied Health Sciences

Distinguished Graduate Student Award

Dimitrios Alexandropoulos, Chemistry

Michael Ayerh K Ayertey, Geography

Matilda Baptist, Biotechnology

Allan Campopiano, Psychology

Corey Jonathan Carlton, Business Economics

Kevin Daniel Caslin, Physics

Andrew Cheesman, Physics

Alison Edge, Biotechnology

Whitney Evans, Political Science

Renee Marie Henriette Girard, History

Christopher Scott Grawey, Critical Sociology

Steven Greenwood, English

Wade Alexander Hunt, Philosophy

Naomi Johnson, Applied Disabilities Studies

Malisa Kurtz, Interdisciplinary Humanities

Jeff Lakeit, Comparative Literatures and Arts

Justin Peter Maltese, Computer Science

Molly McMeekin, Classics

Kaitlin Louisa McNeill, Applied Disability Studies

Max Cale Merilovich, Biological Sciences

Joel Midgley-Volpato, Mathematics and Statistics

Samantha Lynne Julianne Morris, Sustainability: Science and Society

Li Mou, Business Administration

Ewelina Kinga Niemczyk, Educational Studies

Matthew Peter Casimir Nikitczuk, Earth Sciences

Kiel Graham Ormerod, Biological Sciences

Panagiota Perlepe, Chemistry

Irene Podolak, Applied Health Sciences

Stephanie Simoes, Philosophy

Zipparah Eileen Stephenson, Social Justice and Equity Studies

Kimberley Caitlin Tsujimoto, Child and Youth Studies

Rebecca Lynn Vos, Applied Linguistics

Jennifer R. Weiler, Education

Narnia Christine Worth, Psychology

Haiyue Xu, Management

Michelle Zahradnik, Applied Health Sciences

Spirit of Brock awards

Joshua Bowslaugh, Applied Health Sciences

Katlynne Smith, Education

Regan Fitzgerald, Goodman School of Business

Malisa Kurtz, Humanities

Chimaobi Amadi, Mathematics and Science

Antwi Boasiako, Social Sciences

Jack Noble Book Prizes

Jennifer R. Weiler, Education

Dr. Michael Kompf Book Prizes

Assuntina Del Gobbo, Education

Goodman Graduation Award

Marion Elizabeth Beckett, Business Administration

Neil Patrick Bourque, Business Administration

Regan Mckenzie Fitzgerald, Business Administration

Manuel Gloger, Management

Sunayana Gopal, Business Administration

Wenyan Gu, Accountancy

Jake Paul James Haskell, Accountancy

Jordan Molzan, Accountancy

Li Mou, Business Administration

Abdul Rashed Rahimi, Business Administration

Zahid Mohammad Rahman, Management

Martinus Benny Setya, Business Administration

Lixiong Wang, Business Administration

Yichun Wang, Accountancy

Haoxing Wu, Accountancy

Amik Zeshan, Business Administration

Read more stories in: Featured, News
Tagged with: , , , ,