Cukier wins 2016 Harry Jerome Diversity Award

Wendy Cukier, who in September will become Brock University’s next president, has been announced as winner of the 2016 Harry Jerome Diversity Award, one of Canada’s foremost human rights accolades.

Named after the Canadian Olympic athlete, scholar and social advocate, the Harry Jerome Diversity Award is presented annually by the Black Business and Professional Association (BBPA). It recognizes an individual, community group or organization that has been instrumental in championing diversity in ways that have produced tangible results. Previous winners include Toronto Mayor John Tory and TD Bank vice-president Scott Mullen.

Cukier, currently Vice President of Research and Innovation at Ryerson University, has been prominently involved in diversity and social justice issues both as a scholar and as a volunteer. Her research initiatives include DiversityCounts, which studies the underrepresentation of racialized minorities in leadership roles, while her personal advocacy has ranged from co-founding Lifeline Syria to creating the Coalition for Gun Control. She also founded the Diversity Institute at Ryerson’s Ted Rogers School of Management.

Barriers may exist, but Wendy has helped us see how we can find ways around them, over them or through them.

BBPA President Pauline Christian said Cukier is receiving the award because of her longstanding community service.

“Her work has had an impact, shining a light on where we are and where we need to go,” said Christian. “Barriers may exist, but Wendy has helped us see how we can find ways around them, over them or through them.”

Cukier said she accepts the award on behalf of her colleagues at the Diversity Institute.

“During the course of our work we have met many remarkable people … who have achieved greatness in spite of facing challenges,” she said. “They are really an inspiration to us all.”

The Diversity award is one of 15 categories of Harry Jerome Awards. Other categories include arts, health sciences, young entrepreneurs and business.

The awards will be presented at a formal event April 23 at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre.

Read more stories in: Featured, News, People
Tagged with: , ,