About the Chair

The long term objective of the UNESCO Chair on Community Sustainability: From Local to Global is to examine and develop innovative approaches, models, and techniques that can be readily adopted by rural communities to enhance their sustainability by stimulating and undertaking applied research, support training and connect with communities on crucial components of sustainability.

The main focus will be on natural resources (mainly agriculture and water) and on the needs of women, in order to develop concrete actions and good practices transferable to various countries of the world.


This work is done in with the support of several local and global partners.

  • Université du Quebec a Rimouski, Canada
  • NSERC Chair (C. Marvriplis) at the University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Ontario Institute of Agrologists – Niagara Chapter, Canada
  • Université Laval, Canada
  • Drainage Investment Group, Canada
  • Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry, Canada
  • Niagara Land Trust, Canada
  • Niagara Escarpment Biosphere Reserve, Canada
  • United Nations University INWEH, Canada
  • Plenty Canada, Canada
  • Partners in Research, Canada
  • Blair Felmate and the Intact Climate Change Adaptation Centre, University of Waterloo, Canada
  • ALUS Group, Canada
  • Lakehead University, Canada
  • Regroupement des organismes de bassins versants du Québec, Canada
  • Town of Lincoln, Canada
  • Maureen Reed, University of Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Landcare Niagara, Canada
  • Boreal Agrominerals, Canada
  • Frédérique Guinel, Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada
  • Mikro-Tek, Canada
  • Evergreen Work, Canada
  • Darwin Horning, University of Northern British Columbia, Canada
  • Catherine Potvin, UNESCO Chair for Dialogues on Sustainability, McGill University, Canada
  • Canadian Coalition of Women in Engineering, Science, Trades and Technology
  • Fujian Agricultural University, China
  • University of Amazonian State, Ecuador
  • Escuela Superior Politécnica De Chimborazo (ESPOCH), Ecuador
  • International Union for Conservation of Nature (Commission on Ecosystem Management), Switzerland
  • Geoff Gurr, Charles Sturt University, Australia
  • Gábor Lövei, Aarhus University, Denmark
  • Steve Wratten, Lincoln University, New Zealand
  • Philip C. Stevenson, University of Greenwich, UK
  • Kris Wyckhuys, International Centre for Tropical Agriculture, Vietnam
  • Kongming Wu, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China
  • Olivia Reynolds, Industry & Investment NSW (Primary Industries),             Australia
  • Martin Price, UNESCO Chair in Sustainable Mountain Development, University of the Highlands and Islands, UK
  • Helena Freitas, UNESCO Chair in Biodiversity Safeguard for Sustainable Development, University of Coimbra, Portugal
  • Helan Environmental, China
  • Catherine Jabot, World Wildlife Society, Saint Barthelemy
  • International Network of Women Engineers and Scientists, Canada/international
  • Martin Price, UNESCO Chair in Sustainable Mountain Development, University of the Highlands and Islands, UK