People in our Program

Over 50 SJES faculty are affiliated with this interdisciplinary program while remaining members of their home departments in the faculties of Humanities, Social Sciences, Applied Health Sciences, Education and the Goodman School of Business.

Staff

Graduate Program Director 
Dr. Trent Newmeyer
Office: STH 419
905-688-5550 x5118
tnewmeyer@brocku.ca

Graduate Administrative Coordinator
Office: STH 400B 
905-688-5550 x5591
socialjustice@brocku.ca

Office hours: 
Monday: 8:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Tuesday: 8:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Wednesday: By appointment (email socialjustice@brocku.ca)

Faculty

Rob Alexander
Associate Professor, English Language and Literature
Office: GLN 139
905-688-5550 x3886
ralexander@brocku.ca

Dan Cui
Assistant Professor, Child and Youth Studies
Office: CRN 335
905-688-5550 x4548
dcui@brocku.ca

Kate Bezanson
Associate Professor of Sociology
Office: STH 401
905-688-5550 x3457
kbezanson@brocku.ca

Robyn Bourgeois
Associate Professor, Women’s and Gender Studies
Office: MC D330
905-688-5550 x6650
rbourgeois@brocku.ca

Simon Black
Assistant Professor, Labour Studies
Office:PLZ 333
905-688-5550 x5350
simon.black@brocku.ca

David Butz
Professor, Geography
Office: MC C315
905-688-5550 x3205
dbutz@brocku.ca

Diane Collier
Associate Professor, Education
Office: WH 364
905-688-5550 x6146
diane.collier@brocku.ca

Maureen Connolly
Professor, Kinesiology
Office: WC 271
905-688-5550 x3381
mconnolly@brocku.ca

Nancy Cook
Associate Professor, Sociology
Office: STH 416
905-688-5550 x3176
ncook@brocku.ca

Joanne Crawford
Associate Professor, Nursing
Office:EA 322, Building 3
905-688-5550 x4363
jcrawford2@brocku.ca

Lauren Corman
Associate Professor, Sociology
Office: STH 404
905-688-5550 x5080
lcorman@brocku.ca

Gale Coskan-Johnson
Director, Writing, Rhetoric and Discourse Studies
Associate Professor, English Language and Literature
Office: GLN 133
905-688-5550 x5001
gcoskanjohnson@brocku.ca

Kendra Coulter
Associate Professor of Labour Studies
Office: PLZ 331
905-688-5550 x5349
kcoulter@brocku.ca

Hevina Dashwood
Professor, Political Science
Office: PLZ 337
905-688-5550 x3894
hdashwood@brocku.ca

Keri Cronin
Associate Professor, Visual Arts
Office: MWS 335
905-688-5550 x5306
keri.cronin@brocku.ca

Ronald Cummings
Assistant Professor, English Language and Literature
Office: GLA 147
905-688-5550 x3739
rcummings@brocku.ca

Stefan Dolgert
Associate Professor, Political Science
Office: PLZ 345
905-688-5550 x3891
sdolgert@brocku.ca

Michele Donnelly
Assistant Professor,Sport Management
Office: STH 436
905-688-5550 x4351
mdonnelly2@brocku.ca

El-Hoss Tamara
Associate Professor, Modern Languages
Office: MCA 231
905-688-5550 x5212
telhoss@brocku.ca

Ifeanyi Ezeonu
Associate Professor, Sociology
Office: STH 424
905-688-5550 x4054
iezeonu@brocku.ca

Spy Dénommé-Welch
Associate Professor, Education
Tecumseh Centre for Aboriginal Research and Education
Office: WH 66
905-688-5550 x5491
sdenommewelch@brocku.ca

Andrea Doucet
Professor, Sociology
Office: STH 410
905-688-5550 x3150
adoucet@brocku.ca

Hannah Dyer
Associate Professor, Child and Youth Studies
Office: CRN 346
905-688-5550 x4323
hdyer@brocku.ca

Curtis Fogel
Associate Professor, Sport Management
Office: STH 447
905-688-5550 x4617
cfogel@brocku.ca

Margot Francis
Associate Professor, Women and Gender Studies
Office: MCD 333
905-688-5550 x5381
mfrancis@brocku.ca

Tami Friedman
Associate Professor, History
Office: GLN 225
905-688-5550 x3709
tfriedman@brocku.ca

Jennifer Good
Associate Professor, Communication, Popular Culture and Film
Office: SBH 342
905-688-5550 x3707
jgood@brocku.ca

Debra Harwood
Associate Professor, Education
Office: WH 373
905-688-5550 x5873
dharwood@brocku.ca

Charlotte Henay
Lecturer, Women’s and Gender Studies
Office: MCD 331
905-688-5550 x3466
chenay@brocku.ca

Jane Helleiner
Professor, Sociology
Office: STH 426
905-688-5550 x3711
jhelleiner@brocku.ca

Wesley Helms
Associate Professor, Marketing, International Business and Strategy
Office: TA 444
905-688-5550 x5191
whelms@brocku.ca

Tim Kenyon
Vice President, Research
905-688-5550 x3127
tkenyon@brocku.ca

Anthony Kinik
Associate Professor, Communication, Popular Culture and Film
Office:BH 335
905-688-5550 x6397
akinik@brocku.ca

Tamari Kitossa
Associate Professor, Sociology
Office: STH 422
905-688-5550 x5672
tkitossa@brocku.ca

Gregor Kranjc
Associate Professor, History
Office:GLA 245
905-688-5550 x6161
gkranjc@brocku.ca

Dolana Mogadime
Associate Professor, Education
Office: WH 370
905-688-5550 x3733
dmogadime@brocku.ca

Voula Marinos
Associate Professor, Child and Youth Studies
Office: CRN 341
905-688-5550 x3386
vmarinos@brocku.ca

Shannon Moore
Professor, Child and Youth Studies
Office: CRN 337B
905-688-5550 x5396
smoore@brocku.ca

Trent Newmeyer
Director, Centre for Women’s and Gender Studies
Associate Professor, Sociology
Office: STH 419
905-688-5550 x5118
tnewmeyer@brocku.ca

Andrew Pendakis
Assistant Professor, English Language and Literature
Office: GLN 155
905-688-5550 x5319
apendakis@brocku.ca

Maria Del Carmen Suescun Pozas
Associate Professor, History
Office: GLN 243
905-688-5550 x5145
msuescunpozas@brocku.ca

Joseph Norris
Professor, Dramatic Arts
Office: MWS 313
905-688-5550 x3596
jnorris@brocku.ca

Michael O’sullivan
Associate Professor and Associate Dean, Graduate Student Services, Research, and International (ADGRI)
Office: WH108
905-688-5550 x5345
mosullivan@brocku.ca

Shauna Pomerantz
Associate Professor, Child and Youth Studies
Office: CRN 331
905-688-5550 x5371
spomerantz@brocku.ca

Rebecca Raby
Professor, Child and Youth Studies
Office: CRN 340
905-688-5550 x3172
rraby@brocku.ca

Gyllian Raby
Associate Professor, Dramatic Arts
Office: MWS 307
905-688-5550 x3221
graby@brocku.ca

Karen-Louise Smith
Assistant Professor, Communications, Popular Culture
Office: SBH 316
905-688-5550 x6497
karen.louise.smith@brocku.ca

Mary-Beth Raddon
Associate Professor, Sociology
Office: STH 401
905-688-5550 x3460
mraddon@brocku.ca

John Sorenson
Professor, Sociology
Office: STH 414
905-688-5550 x4369
jsorenson@brocku.ca

Susan Spearey
Associate Professor, English Language and Literature
Office: GLN 143
905-688-5550 x3885
sspearey@brocku.ca

Donna Szoke
Associate Professor, Visual Arts
Office: MWS 339
905-688-5550 x4116
donna.szoke@brocku.ca

Nancy Taber
Associate Professor, Education
Office: WH 266
905-688-5550 x4218
ntaber@brocku.ca

Leanne Taylor
Associate Professor, Education
Office: WH 271
905-688-5550 x4965
leanne.taylor@brocku.ca

Susan Tilley
Professor, Education
Office: WH 375
905-688-5550 x3144
stilley@brocku.ca

Dawn Trussell
Associate Professor, Sport Management
Office: STH 451
905-688-5550 x4580
dtrussell@brocku.ca

Ebru Ustundag
Associate Professor, Geography
Office: MC C314
905-688-5550 x4417
eustundag@brocku.ca