Faculty and staff

Staff

Department Chair
Michael Pisaric, Professor
Office: MC C321
905-688-5550 x6152
mpisaric@brocku.ca

Administrative Coordinator & Academic Advisor, Graduate and Undergraduate Programs
Virginia Wagg
Office: MC C322
905-688-5550 x3484
vwagg@brocku.ca

Graduate Program Director
David Butz, Professor
Office: MC C315
905-688-5550 x3205
dbutz@brocku.ca

Academic Advisor & Communications Coordinator
Alyssa Beauchamp
Office: MC C324
905-688-5550 x3514
abeauchamp@brocku.ca

Microcomputer Support Analyst/Technician
Dimitre Iankoulov
Office: MC C312
905-688-5550 x3485
djankoul@brocku.ca

Faculty

Julia Baird
Assistant Professor
Office: SH 300
905-688-5550 x5426
jbaird@brocku.ca

  • Water management
  • Water governance
  • Social-ecological resilience
  • Sustainability science
  • Agriculture management
  • Social network analysis

Jeff Boggs
Associate Professor
Office: MC C328
905-688-5550 x4975
jeff.boggs@brocku.ca

  • Economic geography and heterodox political economy
  • Locational dynamics of media and other cultural industries
  • Regional political economy
  • Economic development in second-tier cities and deindustrialized regions
  • Niagara’s changing economy
  • Regional foci: North America, European Union (especially Germany and Mitteleuropa)

David T. Brown
Associate Professor
Office: MC C425
905-688-5550 x3293
dbrown@brocku.ca

  • Digital tourism and interpretation
  • Municipal cultural mapping
  • Niagara Greenbelt Gateway Project
  • Land management plans for the Niagara Parks Commission
  • Trail and greenway management
  • Sustainable integrated waste management theory and practice

David Butz
Professor & Graduate Program Director
Office: MC C315
905-688-5550 x3205
dbutz@brocku.ca

  • Social and cultural geography
  • Qualitative research design
  • Community level social organisation in northern Pakistan
  • Mobility justice
  • Mobilities, road construction and social change in the global south
  • Transport labour in the Karakoram/Hindu-Kush/Himalaya
  • Reggae music and spatiality

Danuta de Grosbois
Associate Professor
Office: MC C421
905-688-5550 x5676
ddegrosbois@brocku.ca

  • Sustainable tourism management
  • Tourism certification
  • Measurement of CSR performance
  • CSR reporting in tourism industry

David Fennell
Professor
Office: MC C420
905-688-5550 x4663
dfennell@brocku.ca

  • Ecotourism
  • Nature-based tourism
  • Tourism ethics
  • Ecotourism policy and planning

Christopher Fullerton
Associate Professor
Office: MC C417
905-688-5550 x3487 
chris.fullerton@brocku.ca

  • Rural planning and development
  • Rural tourism
  • Ottawa’s urban and regional planning history
  • Public transit planning and policy
  • U-Pass programs at post-secondary institutions

Atsuko Hashimoto
Associate Professor
Office: MC C422
905-688-5550 x4367
ahashimoto@brocku.ca

  • Socio-cultural and human aspects of tourism development (especially women and children)
  • Dark tourism
  • Green tourism in rural Japan

Phillip Gordon Mackintosh 
Professor
Office: MC C319
905-688-5550 x 5221
pmackintosh@brocku.ca

  • Urban historical geography
  • Victorian, Edwardian, and Interwar urban reform, city and park planning history
  • Cultural geography, cultural history, and public space (including bicycling)

John Menzies
Professor, Earth Sciences
Office: MC D421
905-688-5550 x3865
jmenzies@brocku.ca

  • Glacial sedimentology at Lichtenegg, Baden-Wurttemburg
  • Micromorphology of Antarctic marine diamictons
  • Structural geology of tills
  • The science of geomaterials

Catherine Jean Nash
Professor
Office: MC C317
905-688-5550 x3238
cnash@brocku.ca

  • Social and cultural geographies
  • Urban planning and development
  • Digital cities, cyberspace, and mobilities

Michael Pisaric
Professor & Department Chair
Office: MC C321
905-688-5550 x6152
mpisaric@brocku.ca

  • Climate change
  • Dendrochronology
  • Paleolimnology
  • Arctic ecosystems
  • Landscape evolution

Mike Ripmeester
Professor
Office: MC C331
905-688-5550 x 4416
michael.ripmeester@brocku.ca

  • Geographies of popular memory
  • Geography and ethnohistory
  • Historical and cultural geography
  • Historical geographies of First Nations in Ontario
  • Historical Geographies of  Native – Euro – Canadian relationships in 19th century Canada
  • Landscape and identity
    • Geographies of private green space
    • Mnemonic landscapes
    • Wine and identity
    • Culture and economy

Dragos Simandan
Professor 
Office: MC C327
905-688-5550 x5010
simandan@brocku.ca

  • Economic Geography
  • Critical Human Geographies and Critical Urban Theory
  • Health, Well-being, and the Politics of Biomedical Research
  • Social Theory and Philosophy of the Social Sciences
  • The Interface between Geography and the Cognitive Sciences

David J. Telfer
Associate Professor
Office: MC C415
905-688-5550 x4100
dtelfer@brocku.ca

  • Linkages between tourism and development theory
  • Tourism planning and development
  • Rural tourism development

Kevin Turner
Associate Professor
Office: MC C330
905-688-5550 x5399
kturner2@brocku.ca

  • Response of northern lake-rich landscapes to climate change
  • Hydrology
  • GIS, spatial analysis, and remote sensing
  • Water isotope tracer techniques
  • Paleolimnological reconstruction of past lake conditions

Ebru Ustundag
Associate Professor
Office: MC C314
905-688-5550 x4417
eustundag@brocku.ca

  • Urban Geography
  • Citizenship Studies
  • Emotional/Affective Geographies
  • Feminist Geographies
  • Geographies of Health and Addiction
  • Geographies of Sex-Work
  • Graphic Medicine

Adjunct faculty

Jayson Childs
Adjunct Professor
Office: MC C329
905-688-5550 x5891
jchilds@brocku.ca

  • Aeolian geomorphology of the Great Lakes
  • Coastal conservation and management
  • Coastal geomorphology of the Great Lakes
  • Education
  • Polar geography
  • Water resources geography

Part-time instructors

Marilyne Jollineau
mjollineau@brocku.ca

Ian Wood
iwood@brocku.ca

David Morimoto
dmorimoto@brocku.ca

Librarians

Ian Gordon
Liaison Librarian
Office: ST1137
905 688 5550 x3727
igordon@brocku.ca

Tim Ribaric
Acting Head, Maps, Data and GIS Library
905-688-5550 ext. 5358
tribaric@brocku.ca

Retired Faculty and Staff

  • Daryl Dagesse
  • Loris Gasparotto, Cartographer
  • Hugh Gayler, Professor Emeritus
  • Alun Hughes
  • John Jackson
  • John McNeil
  • Josephine Meeker
  • John Middleton
  • Anthony Shaw
  • Clarke Thomson
  • B.W. Thompson