People in the Department

staff

Lester Kwong
Associate Professor & Chair
Office: Plaza 428
905-688-5550 x5137
lkwong@brocku.ca

Karen Phillips
Department Administrative Assistant
Office: Plaza 451
905-688-5550 x4697
kphillips@brocku.ca

David Love
Associate Professor & Undergraduate Academic Advisor
Office: Plaza 447
905-688-5550 x3330
dlove@brocku.ca

Jean-François Lamarche
Associate Professor & Graduate Program Director
Office: Plaza 443
905-688-5550 x3328
jfl@brocku.ca

faculty

Xue Bai
Assistant Professor
905-688-5550 x3938
xbai@brocku.ca
Research fields: International Trade, Industrial Organization, Economic Development and Applied Microeconomics

Cornelius Christian
Assistant Professor
905-688-5550 x3971
cchristian2@brocku.ca
Research fields: Economic History, Development Economics, Political Economy

Marilyn Cottrell
Lecturer
905-688-5550 x4138
mcottrell@brocku.ca
Research fields: Economic Education

Andrew Dickens
Assistant Professor
905-688-5550 x3991
adickens@brocku.ca
Research fields: Development Economics, Political Economy, Economic History and Applied Microeconomics

Robert W. Dimand
Professor
905-688-5550 x3125
rdimand@brocku.ca
Research fields: Development of macroeconomics, History of Game Theory, History of Women in Economics, Origins of the Efficient Markets Hypothesis

Diane P. Dupont
Professor
905-688-5550 x3129
ddupont@brocku.ca
Research fields: Non-market valuation, Environmental Economics, Fisheries Economics

Robert Koehn
Lecturer
905-688-5550 x3104
rkoehn@brocku.ca 

Katerina Koka
Associate Professor
905-688-5550 x4280
kkoka@brocku.ca
Research fields: Macroeconomics, Labor Economics

Joseph Kushner
Professor
905-688-5550 x3165
kushner@brocku.ca
Research fields: Event study methodology, urban economics, industry studies

Lester Kwong
Associate Professor and Department Chair
905-688-5550 x5137
lkwong@brocku.ca
Research fields: Price Discrimination/Strategies, Economics of Uncertainty and Information

Jean-Francois Lamarche
Associate Professor and MBE Program Director
905-688-5550 x3328
jfl@brocku.ca
Research fields: Econometrics

David R. F. Love
Associate Professor and Department Academic Advisor
905-688-5550 x3330
dlove@brocku.ca
Research fields: Macroeconomic Theory, Growth Theory, Tax and Monetary Policy

Felice Martinello
Professor
905-688-5550 x3329
fmartinello@brocku.ca
Research fields: Labour Economics, Industrial Relations, Economics of Unions

Ivan Medovikov
Associate Professor
905-688-5550 x6148
imedovikov@brocku.ca
Research fields:Time-series econometrics, financial econometrics and statistic

A. Marcel Oestreich
Assistant Professor
905-688-5550 x6252
a.marcel.oestreich@brocku.ca
Research fields: Environmental Economics, Applied Game Theory, Industrial Organization and Empirical Finance

Tomson Ogwang
Professor
905-688-5550 x4696
togwang@brocku.ca
Research fields: Econometrics, Economic Development

The Late Steven Renzetti
Professor

Research fields: Environmental and Natural Resource Economics, Public Policy

Ling Sun
Associate Professor
905-688-5550 x5097
ling.sun@brocku.ca
Research fields: Macroeconomics, Financial Economics, Monetary Economics

William Veloce
Associate Professor
905-688-5550 x3327
wveloce@brocku.ca
Research fields: Time Series Econometrics, Forecasting in Econometrics

Anthony J. Ward
Associate Professor
905-688-5550 x3327
award@brocku.ca
Research fields: Economic History, Natural Resource Economics, Environmental Economics, Climate Change, Economics of Developing Countries

sessional instructors

Indra Hardeen
905-688-5550 x5423
ihardeen@brocku.ca
Research interests: History of women in economics

Roloef Makken
905-688-5550 x5428
roelof.makken@ternanalytics.com
Research interests: Financial economics, economic development

professor emeritus

Mohammed Dore
Research fields: Environmental Economics, Justice Theory, Macrodynamics/Business Cycles, Forestry and Global Warming, Sustainable Development

Zisimos Koustas
Research fields: Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Time Series Analysis

  • Robert Dimand won the 2016 Brock University Award for Distinguished Research and Creativity.
  • Robert Dimand received the 2016 Thomas F. Divine Award from the Association for Social Economics.
  • Ivan Medovikov won the 2015 Faculty of Social Sciences Award for Teaching Excellence.
  • Marilyn Cottrell won the 2014 Brock Award for Distinguished Teaching.
  • Marilyn Cottrell won the 2013 Faculty of Social Sciences Award for Teaching Excellence.
  • Professor Robert Dimand won the 2013 Faculty of Graduate Studies Mentoring Award. Established in 2011, the awards honour and recognize the essential role of mentorship in graduate education by graduate faculty supervisors.
  • Professor Felice Martinello won OCUFA’s 2013 Lorimer Award. This award is in place to “honour and recognize outstanding contributions to improving the terms and conditions of employment of Ontario university faculty through bargaining”.
  • Diane Dupont won the 2012 Brock University Award for Distinguished Research and Creativity.  
  • Robert Dimand won the Faculty of Social Sciences Award for Excellence in Teaching, 2012.
  • Marilyn Cottrell won Brock University’s Don Ursino Award for Excellence in Teaching Large Classes (December 2009).
  • Chancellor’s Chairs for Research Excellence have been awarded to Robert Dimand (2002-2005) and Diane Dupont (2006-2009).
  • Mohammed Dore has won the Brock University Award for Distinguished Research and Creative Activity.