People in the Department

Staff

Department Chair
Christie Milliken, Associate Professor
Office: SBH 336
905-688-5550 x4480
cmillike@brocku.ca

Academic Administrator
Penni Lafleur
Office: SBH 344
905-688-5550 x5308
plafleur@brocku.ca

1. Through Student Self-Serve
2. Email: penni.lafleur@brocku.ca
3. Phone: 905-688-5550 x5308

Administrative Assistant
Jane DeMan
Office: SBH 309
905-688-5550 x4290
jdeman@brocku.ca

Academic Advisor, Experiential Learning Coordinator
Anneka Bosse 
Office: SBH 310
905-688-5550 x 5837
abosse@brocku.ca

Audio-Visual Technologist
Rob MacMorine
Office: SBH 339
905-688-5550 x3998
robmac@brocku.ca

Graduate Program Director
Derek Foster, Associate Professor
Office: SBH 311
905-688-5550 x5366
dfoster@brocku.ca

Faculty

Nick Baxter-Moore
Associate Professor
Office: SBH 310
905-688-5550 x4145
nick.baxter-moore@brocku.ca

Jackie Botterill
Associate Professor
Office: SBH 338
905-688-5550 x5364
jbotterill@brocku.ca

Dale Bradley
Assistant Professor
Office: SBH 322
905-688-5550 x3180
dbradley@brocku.ca

Marian Bredin
Associate Professor
Office: SBH 314
905-688-5550 x4658
mbredin@brocku.ca 

Sharon Broderick
Lecturer
Office: TA 348
905-688-5550 x3898
sharonb@brocku.ca

Liz Clarke
Assistant Professor
Office: SBH 333
905-688-5550 x6705
lclarke@brocku.ca

Tim Dun
Associate Professor
Office: SBH 313
905-688-5550 x5365
tdun@brocku.ca

Derek Foster
Associate Professor & Graduate Program Director
Office: SBH 311
905-688-5550 x5366
dfoster@brocku.ca

Greg Gillespie
Associate Professor
Office: SBH 308
905-688-5550 x3160
ggillespie@brocku.ca

Jennifer Good
Associate Professor
Office: SBH 342
905-688-5550 x3707
jgood@brocku.ca 

Scott Henderson
Associate Professor

Office: SBH 340
905-688-5550 x4287
shender@brocku.ca

Russell Johnston
Associate Professor
Office: SBH 320
905-688-5550 x3154
russell.johnston@brocku.ca

Anthony Kinik
Assistant Professor
Office: SBH 335
905-688-5550 x6397
akinik@brocku.ca

Peter Lester
Assistant Professor
Office: SBH 307
905-688-5550 x3822
plester@brocku.ca

Sarah Matheson
Associate Professor
Office: SBH 332
905-688-5550 x4395
smatheson@brocku.ca

Christie Milliken
Department Chair & Associate Professor
Office: SBH 336
905-688-5550 x4480
cmillike@brocku.ca

Bohdan Nebesio
Associate Professor
Office: SBH 334
905-688-5550 x5221
bnebesio@brocku.ca

Cristina Santos
Associate Professor – Cross Appointed
Office: SBH 343
905-688-5550 x4498
csantos@brocku.ca

Karen Louise-Smith
Assistant Professor
Office: SBH 307
905-688-5550 x6497
karen.louise.smith@brocku.ca

Andrea Zeffiro
Adjunct Professor
Office: SBH 337
azeffiro2@brocku.ca

Professor emeritus

Barry Grant

Barry Grant (PhD State University of New York at Buffalo) is interested in film genres, documentary film, horror and science fiction, popular music, and popular culture. He has published extensively in many areas of film and popular culture; his most recent publication is a British Film Institute Screen Guide entitled 100 Science Fiction Films.

Jim Leach

Joan Nicks

Joan Nicks is a retired faculty member whose main research interest is the local popular culture of Niagara Falls. She is currently the editor and project coordinator of a manuscript in progress entitled Niagara Movie Theatres and Motels: Cultural Loss and Decline in Tourist City.

Remembering Terrance Cox

It is with sadness and regret that we announce that our colleague and friend, Terrance Cox, passed away on Friday, Jan. 16, 2015. Terrance had a long-standing involvement with the Department of Communication, Popular Culture and Film. He was a teaching assistant for FILM 1F94: Introduction to Film Studies and in MUSI 1F00: Music as Popular Culture, offered for PCUL credit. Eventually Terrance became the instructor of that course, which he taught for many years along with DRAM 1F93: Introduction to Dramatic Literature. Terrance was an adjunct member of the CPCF faculty from 2004 to 2013. He was also a member of the Popular Culture Niagara Research Group, a team of nine faculty mostly in CPCF who had a four-year SSHRC-funded project to study and celebrate the local popular culture of the Niagara region. As part of that project, Terrance collaborated with Prof. Nick Baxter-Moore to study the local music scene. His chapter on jazz musician Kenny Wheeler appeared in Covering Niagara (eds. Joan Nicks & Barry Keith Grant, Wilfrid Laurier University Press, 2010). A widely published poet, Terrance authored Radio & Other Miracles (Signature Press, 2001) and released two “spoken word with music” CDs, Local Scores and Simultaneous Translation. Terrance’s obituary can be found here.