People in our Department

Staff

Department Chair
John McNamara, Professor
Office: CRN 325
905-688-5550 x3835
jmcnamara@brocku.ca

Course Coordinator
Ellen Carter
Office: CRN 324
905-688-5550 x3151
ecarter@brocku.ca

Administrative Assistant
Lora Baliukas
Office: CRN 319
905-688-5550 x3740
lbaliukas@brocku.ca
chysdept@brocku.ca

Graduate Program Director
Shauna Pomerantz, Associate Professor
Office: CRN 331
905-688-5550 x5371
chysgpd@brocku.ca

Department Coordinator & Academic Advisor (First & Upper Year Students)
Alison Lahn
Office: CRN 321
905-688-5550 x4299
alahn@brocku.ca

Graduate Administrative Coordinator
Ashley Do Nascimento
Office: CRN 353
905-688-5550 x5148
adonascimento@brocku.ca

Administrative Coordinator
(Academic Advisor – First Year Students)
Carol Penner
Office: CRN 323
905-688-5550 x5242
carolpenner@brocku.ca

Student Facilitator
Jo-Anne Sinnige-Egger
Office: CRN 322
905-688-5550 x5893
jsinnigeegger@brocku.ca

Faculty

Heather Chalmers
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 348
905-688-5550 x3191
heather.chalmers@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Maureen Connolly
Professor, Physical Education and Kinesiology
Office: WC 271
905-688-5550 x3381
mconnolly@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Dan Cui
Assistant Professor
Office: CRN 335
905-688-5550 x4548
dcui@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Hannah Dyer
Assistant Professor
Office: CRN 333
905-688-5550 x4323
hdyer@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Maurice Feldman
Professor, Applied Disability Studies
Office: TH 146L
905-688-5550 x4894
maurice.feldman@brocku.ca

Not available to supervise for 2017-2018.
Not available for graduate committee for 2017-2018.

Jan Frijters
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 339
905-688-5550 x4219
jan.frijters@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Dorothy Griffiths
Professor
Office: CRN 330
905-688-5550 x4069
dgriffiths@brocku.ca

Not available to supervise for 2018-2019.
May be available for graduate committee.

Zopito Marini
Professor
Office: CRN 332
905-688-5550

Not available to supervise.

Voula Marinos
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 341
905-688-5550 x3386
vmarinos@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2017-2018.
Available for graduate committee 2017-2018.

John McNamara
Department Chair and Professor
Office: CRN 346
905-688-5550 x3835
john.mcnamara@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Richard Mitchell
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 352
905-688-5550 x5085
richard.mitchell@brocku.ca

May be available to supervise for 2018-2019.
May be available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Danielle S. Molnar
Assistant Professor
Office: CRN 329
905-688-5550 x6127
dmolnar@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Shannon Moore
Director, Centre for Women’s and Gender Studies
Associate Professor, Department of Child and Youth Studies
Office: MCD 328
905-
688-5550 x5396
smoore@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Tom O’Neill
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 342
905-688-5550 x3110
toneill@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Frances Owen
Professor
Office: CRN 328
905-688-5550 x4807
fowen@brocku.ca

Not available for supervision in 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Shauna Pomerantz
Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director
Office: CRN 331
905-688-5550 x5371
shauna.pomerantz@brocku.ca

Not Available to supervise for 2017-2018.

Rebecca Raby
Professor
Office: CRN 340
905-688-5550 x3172
rraby@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Christine Tardif-Williams
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 326
905-688-5550 x4557
ctardifwilliams@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2017-2018.
Available for graduate committee 2017-2018.

Donato Tarulli
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 327
905-688-5550 x4513
dtarulli@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Ayda Tekok-Kilic
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 349
905-688-5550 x3937
atekokkilic@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Tricia Vause
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 350
905-688-5550 x3559
tricia.vause@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Tony Volk
Office: CRN 347
905-688-5550 x5368
tony.volk@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Terrance Wade
Professor, Health Sciences
Office: STH 317
905-688-5550 x4146
twade@brocku.ca

May be available to supervise for 2018-2019.
Available for graduate committee 2018-2019.

Dawn Zinga
Acting Associate Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, Graduate Studies and Research
Professor, Child and Youth Studies
Office:
905-688-5550 x3152
dzinga@brocku.ca

Adjunct Faculty

Heather Lawford
Adjunct Professor
hlawford@ubishops.ca

Available for Graduate Committee

B.A (Trent) M.A (Wilfrid Laurier) Ph.D (Concordia)

Dr. Heather Lawford’s research examines the ways in which youth are able to reach their full potential and make meaningful and lasting contributions to their community. She is also interested in a narrative life-story approach to psychology. That is, she seeks to understand how the stories we tell about ourselves shape who we are and who we become.  

Miao Li
Adjunct Professor
mli3@brocku.ca

Dr. Miao Li received her Ph.D. in Educational Psychology at Queen’s University. Her research areas include cognitive processes involved in learning to read, language and literacy skills in both first language and second language learners, with and without reading difficulties, and reading intervention and remediation for struggling readers. One of her ongoing initiatives is bridging research and practice, and helping educators to develop their evidence-based practice. She was the Academic Coordinator of the China-Canada-USA English Immersion (CCUEI) Collaboration Program and oversaw the implementation of English-immersion programs in China. Dr. Li has extensive experience in leading several large-scale multi-site studies in Canada, China, and USA, and has closely collaborated with researchers in her previous and ongoing research.

Gretchen Perry
Adjunct Professor
gretchenperry@gmail.com

Available for Graduate Committee

Dr. Gretchen Perry received her Cultural Anthropology Ph.D. from the University of Missouri, after obtaining a Master of Social Work and an Honours B.A. in Psychology. She has 25 years of work experience in social services in Canada, 16 of which were in child protection; the last 8 years were focused on assessing extended family members as foster and/or adoptive caregivers. Her research interests include fosterage and adoption, the effects of cultural variation on non-parental childcare, and the effects of changing social and subsistence patterns on family structure, parenting, and child outcomes (developmental and well-being). She has conducted field work in rural Bangladesh, the U.S.A., and Southern Ontario.

Heather Ramey
Adjunct Professor
heather.ramey@humber.ca

Available for Graduate Committee

Dr. Heather Ramey is an adjunct faculty member and holds a PhD in Lifespan Development Psychology from Brock University. Her research is currently focused on youth engagement and youth adult partnerships, youth well being, activity participation, and child and youth care. She is a member of the Canadian Centre for Lifespan Research at Brock University. She is a partner with the Students Commission/Centre of Excellence for Youth Engagement. She is also a full-time faculty at Humber, in the Bachelor of Child & Youth Care program.

Hans Skott-Myhre
Adjunct Professor
hans.skott-myhre@brocku.ca

May be available for Graduate Committee

Dr. Skott-Myhre is an interdisciplinary cultural theorist whose primary research area is the development of models of child and youth work that promote new political possibilities for youth-adult collaboration that challenge global capitalist empire. His research includes the investigation of new forms of community, identity, body practices, and creative expression that hold potential for resistance or flight for youth and adults working towards common political purposes. As a cultural theorist he uses popular culture such as films, “zines”, posters, fashion, novels, and music in combination with academic texts to explore his research interests. He has a strong interest in qualitative research and holds a Ph.D. in Work Community and Family Education from the University of Minnesota with a dissertation that focused on globalization, punks and skinheads and is completing a second doctorate in Cultural Studies with a focus on revolutionary subjectivity. He has taught in the areas of Psychology, Social Work, Youth Studies, Philosophy and Cultural Studies.

Dr. Sandra Styres
Adjunct Professor
sandra.styres@utoronto.ca

Available for Graduate Committee

Dr. Sandra Styres is of Kanien’kehá:ka (Mohawk), English and French descent and resides on Six Nations of the Grand River Territory. Dr. Styres is an Assistant Professor of Indigenous Education with the Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning at OISE, University of Toronto. Dr. Styres’ research interests specifically focus on various aspects of Indigenous education that include: decolonizing Land-centered approaches to Indigenous pedagogies and teaching practices; literacies of Land; teacher-student interactions, learning through various modalities, and the pedagogical implications of those modalities; issues concerning social justice, racism and construction of race in teaching and learning contexts; integration of Indigenous teaching and learning in higher education with both Indigenous and non-Indigenous students; pre-service and in-service teacher development; Indigenous philosophies and knowledges; culturally aligned methodologies and theoretical approaches to Indigenous research; Indigenous and non-Indigenous research collaborations; as well as addressing issues of ethics and protocols that guide the work between Indigenous peoples, communities, and universities.

Stipend instructors

Ann Farrell
afarrell@brocku.ca

Bill Helmeczi
whelmeczi@brocku.ca

Dale Shin
dshin3@brocku.ca

Hans Skott-Myhre
hskottmyhre@brocku.ca

Michelle Bomberry
mbomberry@brocku.ca

Terrance McDonald
tmcdonald@brocku.ca