People in our Department

Staff

Department Chair
Heather Chalmers, Associate Professor
Office: CRN 325
905-688-5550 x3191
hchalmers@brocku.ca

Interim Administrative Coordinator
Jo-Anne Sinnige-Egger
Office: CRN 323
905-688-5550 x5893
jsinnigeegger@brocku.ca

Administrative Assistant
Lora Baliukas
Office: CRN 319
905-688-5550 x3740
lbaliukas@brocku.ca
chysdept@brocku.ca

Department Coordinator & Academic Advisor (First & Upper Year Students)
Alison Lahn
Office: CRN 321
905-688-5550 x4299
alahn@brocku.ca

Graduate Program Director
Hannah Dyer, Associate Professor
Office: CRN 346
905-688-5550 x4323
chysgpd@brocku.ca

Graduate Administrative Coordinator
Kimberly Anderson
Office: CRN 353
905-688-5550 x5148
kanderson2@brocku.ca

Student Learning Facilitator
Samantha MacNeil
Office: CRN 322
905-688-5550 x3151
smacneil@brocku.ca 

Student Learning Facilitator
Lindsay Cramp
Office: CRN 324
905-688-5550 x6368
lcramp@brocku.ca

Course Coordinator
Ellen Carter
Office: CRN 323
ecarter@brocku.ca

Faculty

Naomi Andrews
Assistant Professor
Office: CRN 337B
905-688-5550 x4654
nandrews@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Heather Chalmers
Department Chair and Associate Professor
Office: CRN 325
905-688-5550 x3191
heather.chalmers@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Maureen Connolly
Professor, Physical Education and Kinesiology
Office: WC 271
905-688-5550 x3381
mconnolly@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee

Dan Cui
Assistant Professor
Office: CRN 340
905-688-5550 x4548
dcui@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Suzanne Curtin
Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies
Professor
905-688-5550 x5346
scurtin@brocku.ca

Hannah Dyer
Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director
Office: CRN 346
905-688-5550 x4323
hdyer@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Ann Farrell
Assistant Professor
Office: CRN 333
905-688-5550 x4807
afarrell@brocku.ca

Maurice Feldman
Professor, Applied Disability Studies
Office: MC A236
905-688-5550 x4894
maurice.feldman@brocku.ca

Not available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Not available for graduate committee for 2021-2022.

Jan Frijters
Professor
Office: CRN 339
905-688-5550 x4219
jan.frijters@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Chelsea Jones
Assistant Professor
Office: CRN 335
905-688-5550 x5579
cjones@brocku.ca 

Not available to supervise for 2021-2022
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022

Matthew Kwan
Assistant Professor
Office: CRN 337
905-688-5550 x5682
mkwan@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Voula Marinos
Associate Professor
Office:
905-688-5550 x3386
vmarinos@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 

John McNamara
Professor
Office: CRN 328
905-688-5550 x3835
john.mcnamara@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Richard Mitchell
Professor
Office: CRN 352
905-688-5550 x5085
richard.mitchell@brocku.ca

Available to supervise 2022.
Available for graduate committee.

Danielle S. Molnar
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 329
905-688-5550 x6127
dmolnar@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee

Shannon Moore
Professor
Office: CRN 341
905-
688-5550 x5396
smoore@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Tom O’Neill
Professor
Office: CRN 342
905-688-5550 x3110
toneill@brocku.ca

Not available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Not available for graduate committee

Frances Owen
Professor Emeritus
fowen@brocku.ca

Erin Panda
Assistant Professor
Office: CRN 351
905-688-5550 x3178
epanda@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Rebecca Raby
Professor
Office: CRN 332
905-688-5550 x3172
rraby@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Heather Ramey
Assistant Professor
Office: CRN 348
905-688-5550 x
hramey@brocku.ca

Shauna Pomerantz
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 331
905-688-5550 x5371
shauna.pomerantz@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

 

Donato Tarulli
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 327
905-688-5550 x4513
dtarulli@brocku.ca

Available to supervise (MA only) for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee

Christine Tardif-Williams
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 326
905-688-5550 x4557
ctardifwilliams@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Tricia Vause
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 350
905-688-5550 x3559
tricia.vause@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Ayda Tekok-Kilic
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 349
905-688-5550 x3937
atekokkilic@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Terrance Wade
Professor, Health Sciences
Office: STH 317
905-688-5550 x4146
twade@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee

Tony Volk
Professor
Office: CRN 347
905-688-5550 x5368
tony.volk@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Dawn Zinga
Associate Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, Graduate Studies and Research
Professor, Child and Youth Studies
Office: CRN 330
905-688-5550 x3152
dzinga@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2021-2022.
Available for graduate committee 2021-2022.

Adjunct Faculty

Miao Li
Adjunct Professor
mli3@brocku.ca

Dr. Miao Li received her Ph.D. in Educational Psychology at Queen’s University. Her research areas include cognitive processes involved in learning to read, language and literacy skills in both first language and second language learners, with and without reading difficulties, and reading intervention and remediation for struggling readers. One of her ongoing initiatives is bridging research and practice, and helping educators to develop their evidence-based practice. She was the Academic Coordinator of the China-Canada-USA English Immersion (CCUEI) Collaboration Program and oversaw the implementation of English-immersion programs in China. Dr. Li has extensive experience in leading several large-scale multi-site studies in Canada, China, and USA, and has closely collaborated with researchers in her previous and ongoing research.

Stipend instructors