People in our Department

Staff

Department Chair
John McNamara, Professor
Office: CRN 325
905-688-5550 x3835
jmcnamara@brocku.ca

Course Coordinator
Ellen Carter
Office: CRN 3335
905-688-5550 x3151
ecarter@brocku.ca

Administrative Assistant
Lora Baliukas
Office: CRN 319
905-688-5550 x3740
lbaliukas@brocku.ca
chysdept@brocku.ca

Graduate Program Director
Hannah Dyer, Assistant Professor
Office: CRN 346
905-688-5550 x4323
chysgpd@brocku.ca

Department Coordinator & Academic Advisor (First & Upper Year Students)
Alison Lahn
Office: CRN 321
905-688-5550 x4299
alahn@brocku.ca

Graduate Administrative Coordinator
Ashley Do Nascimento
Office: CRN 353
905-688-5550 x5148
adonascimento@brocku.ca

Administrative Coordinator
(Academic Advisor – First Year Students)
Carol Penner
Office: CRN 323
905-688-5550 x5242
carolpenner@brocku.ca

Student Facilitator
Jo-Anne Sinnige-Egger
Office: CRN 322
905-688-5550 x5893
jsinnigeegger@brocku.ca

Student Learning Facilitator
Samantha MacNeil
Office: CRN
905-688-5550 x3151
smacneil@brocku.ca 

Student Facilitator
Lindsay Cramp
Office: CRN 324
905-688-5550 x6368
lcramp@brocku.ca

Faculty

Naomi Andrews
Assistant Professor
Office: CRN 337B
905-688-5550 x4654
nandrews@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Heather Chalmers
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 328
905-688-5550 x3191
heather.chalmers@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Maureen Connolly
Professor, Physical Education and Kinesiology
Office: WC 271
905-688-5550 x3381
mconnolly@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Dan Cui
Assistant Professor
Office: CRN 340
905-688-5550 x4548
dcui@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Hannah Dyer
Assistant Professor and Graduate Program Director
Office: CRN 346
905-688-5550 x4323
hdyer@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Maurice Feldman
Professor, Applied Disability Studies
Office: MC A236
905-688-5550 x4894
maurice.feldman@brocku.ca

Not available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee for 2020-2021.

Jan Frijters
Professor
Office: CRN 339
905-688-5550 x4219
jan.frijters@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Voula Marinos
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 341
905-688-5550 x3386
vmarinos@brocku.ca

Not available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee for 2020-2021.

John McNamara
Department Chair and Professor
Office: CRN 325
905-688-5550 x3835
john.mcnamara@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Richard Mitchell
Professor
Office: CRN 352
905-688-5550 x5085
richard.mitchell@brocku.ca

Not available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Danielle S. Molnar
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 329
905-688-5550 x6127
dmolnar@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Shannon Moore
Director, Centre for Women’s and Gender Studies
Associate Professor, Department of Child and Youth Studies
Office: MCD 328
905-
688-5550 x5396
smoore@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Tom O’Neill
Professor
Office: CRN 342
905-688-5550 x3110
toneill@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Frances Owen
Professor Emeritus
fowen@brocku.ca

Erin Panda
Assistant Professor
Office: CRN 351
905-688-5550 x3178
epanda@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Rebecca Raby
Professor
Office: CRN 332
905-688-5550 x3172
rraby@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Shauna Pomerantz
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 331
905-688-5550 x5371
shauna.pomerantz@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Donato Tarulli
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 327
905-688-5550 x4513
dtarulli@brocku.ca

Available to supervise (MA only) for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Christine Tardif-Williams
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 326
905-688-5550 x4557
ctardifwilliams@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Tricia Vause
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 350
905-688-5550 x3559
tricia.vause@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Ayda Tekok-Kilic
Associate Professor
Office: CRN 349
905-688-5550 x3937
atekokkilic@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Terrance Wade
Professor, Health Sciences
Office: STH 317
905-688-5550 x4146
twade@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Tony Volk
Professor
Office: CRN 347
905-688-5550 x5368
tony.volk@brocku.ca

Available to supervise for 2020-2021.
Available for graduate committee 2020-2021.

Dawn Zinga
Acting Associate Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, Graduate Studies and Research
Professor, Child and Youth Studies
Office: CRN 330
905-688-5550 x3152
dzinga@brocku.ca

Adjunct Faculty

Miao Li
Adjunct Professor
mli3@brocku.ca

Dr. Miao Li received her Ph.D. in Educational Psychology at Queen’s University. Her research areas include cognitive processes involved in learning to read, language and literacy skills in both first language and second language learners, with and without reading difficulties, and reading intervention and remediation for struggling readers. One of her ongoing initiatives is bridging research and practice, and helping educators to develop their evidence-based practice. She was the Academic Coordinator of the China-Canada-USA English Immersion (CCUEI) Collaboration Program and oversaw the implementation of English-immersion programs in China. Dr. Li has extensive experience in leading several large-scale multi-site studies in Canada, China, and USA, and has closely collaborated with researchers in her previous and ongoing research.

Hans Skott-Myhre
Adjunct Professor
hans.skott-myhre@brocku.ca

Available for Graduate Committee

Dr. Skott-Myhre is an interdisciplinary cultural theorist whose primary research area is the development of models of child and youth work that promote new political possibilities for youth-adult collaboration that challenge global capitalist empire. His research includes the investigation of new forms of community, identity, body practices, and creative expression that hold potential for resistance or flight for youth and adults working towards common political purposes. As a cultural theorist he uses popular culture such as films, “zines”, posters, fashion, novels, and music in combination with academic texts to explore his research interests. He has a strong interest in qualitative research and holds a Ph.D. in Work Community and Family Education from the University of Minnesota with a dissertation that focused on globalization, punks and skinheads and is completing a second doctorate in Cultural Studies with a focus on revolutionary subjectivity. He has taught in the areas of Psychology, Social Work, Youth Studies, Philosophy and Cultural Studies.

Heather Ramey
Adjunct Professor
heather.ramey@humber.ca

Available for Graduate Committee

Dr. Heather Ramey is an adjunct faculty member and holds a PhD in Lifespan Development Psychology from Brock University. Her research is currently focused on youth engagement and youth adult partnerships, youth well being, activity participation, and child and youth care. She is a member of the Canadian Centre for Lifespan Research at Brock University. She is a partner with the Students Commission/Centre of Excellence for Youth Engagement. She is also a full-time faculty at Humber, in the Bachelor of Child & Youth Care program.

Stipend instructors

Natalie Spadafora
CHYS 2P10 (D3)

Bill Helmeczi
CHYS 3P12 (D3) & 3P43 (D2)

Yana Lakman
CHYS 3P15 (D3)

Maureen Connolly
CHYS 3P35 (D3)

Lisa Whittingham
CHYS 3P47 (D3)

Samantha MacNeil
CHYS 3P74 (D3)

Sarah-May Lindsay
CHYS 3P96 (D3)

Lauren McNamara
CHYS 3P99 (D2) & (D3)

Bill Helmeczi
CHYS 4P02 (D3)

Michelle Janzen
CHYS 4P30 (D3)