Clarke Thomson Award for Excellence in Sessional Teaching

Deadline:  November 8th, 4:00 pm

Brock University would like to recognize the contributions of its part time/sessional teaching staff who contribute significantly to student learning at Brock University. Clarke Thomson is a professor emeritus who, throughout his university career, promoted the support, development and recognition of university teaching and was Brock University’s first recipient of a national 3M teaching award (1989).


All instructors on contracts or limited-term appointments who teach undergraduate classes, and who have been teaching at Brock University for two or more years, are eligible. One award is available annually.

Nomination Procedures

A nomination package not to exceed 40 pages (20 pages double sided) should include the following documentation:

  • A nomination letter outlining reasons for the nomination
  • A list of courses taught and enrolment figures
  • Letters of support from colleagues, students and administrators
  • Statement of teaching philosophy
  • Summary of student ratings of instruction
  • A brief CV (no more than 8 pages)
  • Additional documentation pertaining to excellence in teaching (such as professional development in post secondary teaching)

Award Presentation

The recipient will be recognized at CPI’s annual Tribute to Teaching and will receive a framed certificate and teaching and learning grant. A plaque recognizing this achievement will be housed in the CPI. The adjudication committee reserves the right not to name a recipient in any given year.

Award Deadline

The nomination package must be submitted to the Centre for Pedagogical Innovation (TH136) in hard copy or electronically to by November 8th annually. The award will be conferred at the Tribute to Teaching event in early December.