SCLA Faculty

Graduate supervision of theses and of major research papers is determined in conjunction with the Graduate Program Director over the course of the program. Please contact Catherine Parayre, the Graduate Program Director, for more information. The individuals below are regular supervisors for the program.

Alex Christie
Assistant Professor
Digital Prototyping, Centre for Digital Humanities
905 688 5550 x3217
achristie@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Modernist Studies; Digital Humanities; Digital Prototyping; 3D Geospatial Expression; Scholarly Communication;

Carmela Colella
Associate Professor
Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures
905 688 5550 x3302
ccolella@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Italian language, Use of technology in the Humanities

Nicholas Hauck
Assistant Professor
Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures
905 688 5550 x4087
nhauck@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Francophone literatures, Translation theory and practice, 20th-c. Poetry and Poetics

Derek Knight
Associate Professor
Visual Arts
905 688 5550 x3754
dknight@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Contemporary Art and Theory; Conceptual; Land Or Environmental Art; Public Art; Landscape Genres; Post-War Photography; Urban Architecture; Edge City and Post-Industrial Spaces; Curatorial Practice and The Biennial Phenomenon; The Art Object in Representation

Nigel Lezama
Associate Professor
Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures
905 688 5550 x5688
nlezama@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Critical Fashion & Luxury; 19th-Century French Literature & Culture; Baudelaire & Modernity; Consumer Culture; Popular Literature

Catherine Parayre
Associate Professor
Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures / Studies in Arts and Culture
cparayre@brocku.ca
Research interests: Visual Arts; Curating; Text and Image; Contemporary Occitan Literature; Literature and Visual Arts in Disability Studies; Comparative Literature; Franco-Canadian Literatures