BUSU Sexual Violence Advisory Committee

The BUSU Sexual Violence Advisory Committeeis currently recruiting Brock members to join the 2020/ 2021 term committee. 

Mission Statement

The Gender & Sexual Violence Support and Education Office and BUSU Advisory panel will work as a review and advisory group to BUSU and Brock University Administration. Our mission is to use intersectional approaches to review current service deliveries and assess, identify and recommend strategies and programming that could be used to improve SV related programming on and off campus.


This Student lead group will assist the SVSEC Office in reviewing and reporting of activities and outcomes of the SVEC team. They will provide feedback on current and future SV related programming. Additionally, this group will review the applications for the Women’s Safety Grant and provide feedback and suggestions on outcomes. 


The BUSU Gender & Sexual Violence Advisory Committee is created to follow Bill 132 which obligated for colleges and university to involve students regarding sexual violence policies. The Act has required colleges and university to have stand-alone sexual violence policies that set out the process that will apply when incidents of sexual violence are reported. The BUSU Sexual Violence Advisory Committee creates a yearly report on Brock University’s sexual harassment policy and work done by the SVEC.  

Membership and Term

Committee members will participate in four (4) closed-session meetings per academic year. The committee will be comprised of 2 co-chairs- One representing BUSU, the other appointment decided on by the committee to represent the open study body. There will be a representative from HRE Sexual Violence Support and Education Office, and other key stakeholders as identified by the group (i.e residence life, ABSS, International student ambassador).

Applications for the committee will take place each September. Call for application will be found on the HRE website and various other media outlets as required. Members may serve up to two consecutive terms. If special circumstances warrant members play be allowed to add an additional third term to their service. General committee members must be a current Brock student in order to partake in the committee membership.

2019/20 Committee Members


  • Jasmine Mehta
  • Niveditha Sethumadhavan
  • Safa Khan
  • Kailene Jackson
  • Eunice Monwe
  • Aayushi Unmesh Vasava
  • Emily Bagshaw
  • Ben Johnson
  • Ankita Amitmaan
  • Safa Khan