Accessibility and Inclusion Recognition Award

Past Award Recipients


The AIRA will continue to be awarded to an individual who has proven that, their contributions are contributing to a community that is free from discrimination. The aim of this award is to allow for allyship to be strengthened and to act as an invitation into the dialogue of how we can remove barriers that limit access to equality. Two awards are to be given annually, one to a Staff or Faculty member, and another to a current Brock Student.

The award will be given on International Day of Persons with Disabilities which occurs every year on December 3. Below are the nomination requirements.

Nomination Requirements

To nominate someone for this award, please fill out the form located at the bottom of this page. Nominators must include the following information:

  • Name of the Nominee (person being nominated)
  • Name of the Nominator
  • Email address of the Nominator
  • Indicate whether the individual being nominated is a Staff/Faculty member, or a Student.
  • A description of the Nominee’s outstanding service to anti-ableism, accessibility or inclusive practice
  • Two (2) letters of support (uploaded to form below)

Recipient Selection Process

Nominations will be accepted until November 24, 2023.
Recipients of the award will be chosen by the Anti-Ableism and Mental Health Committee (AAMH) — formerly the Brock University Accessibility Advisory Committee. For more information about the nomination requirements and selection process, please contact Alison Rothwell.

  • Enter the name of the individual you wish to nominate.
  • Drop files here or
    Accepted file types: pdf, doc, docx, Max. file size: 29 MB, Max. files: 2.
      Please submit only PDF or Microsoft Word documents.
    • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.