Distinguished Graduates

The Distinguished Graduate Award celebrates the outstanding professional or personal achievements of graduates of the Goodman School of Business at Brock University.

The 2023 Distinguished Graduate will be announced in September at Brock University’s Homecoming events.

Square Headshot of Rhonda Klosler sitting at a desk

2022 Distinguished Graduate

Rhonda Klosler

(BBA ’93)

National COO, RSM Canada

When Rhonda visited campus to accept her award, she met with a group of student leaders, shared advice, answered their questions and networked with students. Rhonda also sat down with Dean Barry Wright for a quick interview to discuss her career journey and what it means to be chosen as the 2022 Distinguished Graduate.

Rhonda has nearly 30 years of public accounting experience to her role as Chief Operating Officer at RSM Canada LLP. She joined Collins Barrow Toronto, as an 18-year-old intern in the audit practice and eventually became a partner and a member of the leadership team. She has been instrumental in the tremendous growth of the firm during her tenure. In 2017, Collins Barrow merged with RSM, and she became COO of RSM Canada. In this role, Rhonda works with the leadership team on executing the firm’s national strategy. Rhonda’s core strength is relationship-building – both in her personal and professional life. Known for her drive to get things done, she has a keen ability to tap resources among her high-performing team. She begins internal meetings with her motto – “make a choice to make a difference” – calling on RSM’s motivated and capable professionals to take an all-hands-on-deck approach to building RSM Canada. She is a CPA, CA, having earned her designation in 1993 and became a partner in 2001. In 2012, Rhonda completed the Harvard Business School Professional Services program and in late 2021, was named a Fellow by CPA Ontario, the highest distinction bestowed upon a CPA in the accounting profession.   

Past Recipients

2021 – Cheryl Brandon (BBA ’04)

Co-founder of Waterton Global Resource Management

Cheryl has remained driven throughout her career, combining her passion for investing and building companies with her desire to give back to the community. In 2020, Brandon was recognized as a recipient of Canada’s Top 40 Under 40 award – a nod that celebrates the country’s top up-and-coming business leaders.

View the event recording below.

Cheryl discussed her career journey, shared advice and answered audience questions.

2020Sean Washchuk (BAcc ’96)Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of CCL Industries Inc.
2019Rita Middleton (BAdmin ’87)CEO, Interim CFO, and Board Member
International Solar Solutions
2018Brian Parsons (BAdmin ’90)President and CEO
Willis Towers Watson
2017Joanne McKee (BAdmin ’86)Chief Financial Officer,
Ryerson University
2016Martin Philp (BAdmin ’80, MA ’86)Founding Partner,
Next Advisory
2015Jason Sparaga (BBA ’93)Co-Founder and Co-CEO,
Spark Power Corp.,Oakville
2014Mark Arthur (BA ’77)President
Industrial Alliance Private Wealth Management, Toronto
2013Anne-Marie Robinson (BSc ’87, BBA ’90)President
Public Service Commission of Canada, Ottawa
2012Fred Losani (BAdmin ‘ 87)Owner and CEO
Losani Homes, Hamilton
2011Jeff Park (BAcc ’95)Executive Vice-President and CFO
SXC Health Solutions Corp, Chicago
2010Kristian Knibutat (BAdmin ’86)Partner
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Toronto
2009James MacLellan (BAdmin ’87)Partner
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP, Toronto
2008John Zoccoli (BAdmin ’86)President
Jamzoc Holdings Ltd., o/a Tim Horton, St. Catharines
2007Jim Ryan (BAdmin ’84)CEO
Party Gaming,Gibraltar
2006Dr. Stephen Young (BBA ’91)Managing Director of Accounting Policy
Citigroup’s Corporate and Investment Bank (CIB), New York
2005Debbie Sevenpifer (BAdmin ’87)CEO
Niagara Health Systems, Niagara
2004Dr. Paul Ingram (BBA ’90)Professor of Management
Columbia University,New York
2003Deborah Rosati (BAdmain ’84)President
RosatiNet Inc.,Ottawa
2002Doug Wilkinson (BBA ’91)Partner
Deloitte, Toronto

Nominate a Deserving Goodman Graduate


  1. Nominees must have graduated from the Brock Faculty of Business or Goodman School of Business (hold a BAdmin, BAcc, BBA, MAcc, MBA, or MSc in Management degree)
  2. Nominees must have fifteen years post-graduate experience
  3. All nominees should demonstrate at least one of the following criteria:
    • Outstanding professional achievements
    • Outstanding educational achievements
    • Outstanding community achievements
    • Outstanding volunteer achievements
    • Outstanding entrepreneurial achievements
    • An ongoing commitment to Brock University
  4. Graduates may nominate themselves
  5. Current Brock faculty and staff are excluded
  6. Nominations must be received by March 1

The committee reserves the right to bestow the award to a graduate they feel is a worthy recipient.

Send nominations to Daniel Stranges (dstranges@brocku.ca)