Experiential Education

Our team is currently working remotely and has moved our services online. If you are a current student with an active experiential education component in your course, please contact your professor or experiential coordinator directly. For all other inquiries, please email experiential@brocku.ca

Experiential education engages students in first-hand experiences in order to develop skills, clarify values, contribute to local and global communities, and make learning come alive. Twenty different types of experiential opportunities are built into the University’s courses — from labs and simulations to practicums and internships.

Learn more about the types of experiential learning opportunities built into courses at Brock. 

Experiential education at a glance

43,379

Brock student participants 

1,039

experiential course sections offered

100%

of departments at Brock offering experiential courses

150+

community partners each year

For Faculty and Instructors

The Experiential Education team is available to support you to embed hands-on learning into your courses. Visit the Faculty and Instructor resource page and explore the Faculty Guidebook on Experiential Education, access experiential grant opportunities, or request a customized workshop to support experiential learning in your courses.

For Students

By bridging theory and practice, experiential learning allows you to develop skills, clarify your values, contribute to local and global communities, and make your learning come alive. Click on the button below to learn more about what experiential learning opportunities Brock students.

For Community Partners

Many experiential courses would not be possible without partnerships with community organizations and businesses. If you have a need within your services that a student could fill or an idea for a partnership you would like to pursue, please visit our community partner pageby clicking on the button below.

Get in Touch

Sandy Howe

Associate Director
905 688 5550 x4126
showe@brocku.ca

Ty Bolibruck

Experiential Education Coordinator, Recreation & Leisure Studies
905 688 5550 x4418
tbolibruck@brocku.ca

elyseElyse Lappano

Experiential Education Coordinator, Kinesiology and Inclusive & Adaptive Programs
905 688 5550 x6182
elappano@brocku.ca

Andra Parker

Experiential Education Coordinator, Master of Professional Kinesiology
905 688 5550 x6188
andra.parker@brocku.ca

Note: Andra is currently away from her role. 

Janet Westbury

Experiential Education Coordinator, Health Sciences
905 688 5550 x4143
jwestbury@brocku.ca

Sandra Micsinszki

Nursing Clinical Coordinator
905 688 5550 x4780
smicsins@brocku.ca

Quinn Vos

Experiential Education Coordinator, Outdoor Recreation
905 688 5550 x4298
qvos@brocku.ca

Katie Desveaux

Experiential Education Coordinator, Sport Management
905 688 5550 x3964
kdesveaux@brocku.ca

Liz Kirk

Experiential Education Coordinator
905 688 5550 x6188
ekirk@brocku.ca

 

Carolyn Finlayson

Experiential Education Coordinator
905 688 5550 x6188
cfinlayson@brocku.ca

 

Note: Carolyn is currently away from her role.  Liz Kirk can be contacted in her absence.

Koreen McCullough

Experiential Education Coordinator
905 688 5550 x6120
kmccullough@brocku.ca

Catherine Brigantino

Experiential Education Coordinator
905 688 5550 x5782
cbrigantino@brocku.ca

Liz Kirk

Experiential Education Coordinator
905 688 5550 x6188
ekirk@brocku.ca

 

Carolyn Finlayson

Experiential Education Coordinator
905 688 5550 x6188
cfinlayson@brocku.ca

 

Note: Carolyn is currently away from her role.  Liz Kirk can be contacted in her absence.

Daniel Lonergan

Senior Experiential Education Coordinator
905 688 5550 x5023
dlonergan@brocku.ca

 

Note: Dan is currently away from his role.

David DiPietro

Experiential Education Coordinator
905 688 5550 x5933
ddipietro@brocku.ca

Kristen Nilsen

Experiential Education Coordinator
905 688 5550 x5023
knilsen@brocku.ca

RSS Experiential Education in The Brock News