Brock scholarships help support 59 Niagara high school grads

For the sixth-consecutive year, Brock University celebrated 59 local students and future leaders by awarding the Niagara Principal’s Scholarships to two students from nearly every public, Catholic and private secondary school in the region.

The annual scholarships are given to students who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement and commitment to school and community. Each post-secondary principal may nominate up to five candidates, of which two are selected annually. The value of each award is $2,500. Since its inception, more than $830,000 in Niagara Principal’s Scholarship funding has been offered by Brock.

“Brock University is proud to continue the longstanding commitment to supporting and recognizing student excellence,” says Brock President Gervan Fearon. “Since the Niagara Principal’s Scholarship was launched in 2015, we have celebrated the success of students across the Niagara region who have chosen to pursue their post-secondary education at Brock.

“We are excited to see the variety of ways these students will contribute to the local community and the University. At Brock, we know we are a part of nurturing and fostering the future leaders of our region, country and world, and students receiving these scholarships are a big part of it, too.”

While the annual cohort of recipients are traditionally celebrated during a ceremony in the spring, the Campus Initiatives team in the Registrar’s Office got creative this year as physical distancing measures are in place due to COVID-19.

“This year’s recipients were recognized for their achievements by receiving a package in the mail that had their award and Brock swag in it,” says Recruitment Officer, Campus Initiatives Carly Dugo. “Later this summer, each recipient, along with their families and high school representatives, will be invited to a virtual awards recognition event to celebrate their achievements and meet other leaders from the Brock community.”

Despite necessary changes being made to the format in which recipients are recognized, Geraldine Jones, University Registrar and Associate Vice-President, Enrolment Services, says this doesn’t mean the celebrations are any less exciting.

“While it may have taken a different form this year, I am proud and excited that we were able to continue the tradition of celebrating the success of high achieving Niagara students who have chosen to study at Brock in the fall,” says Jones.

The 2020-21 cohort of Niagara Principal’s Scholarships recipients include:

Shreeya Patel, A.N. Myer Secondary School
Mayah Cousens, A.N. Myer Secondary School
Isabella Saranchuk, Beamsville District Secondary School
Gracie Groulx, Beamsville District Secondary School
Madison O’Brien, Blessed Trinity Catholic School
Alana Sawatsky, Blessed Trinity Catholic School
Amy Battista, Denis Morris Catholic School
Ola Hamid, Denis Morris Catholic School
Devon Fiander, DSBN Academy
Tajrian Hossain, DSBN Academy
Grace Teal, E.L. Crossley
William Guitard, E.L. Crossley
Lauren Gauthier, Eastdale Secondary School
Kaitlin Ives, Eastdale Secondary School
Chyenne Neath, École Secondaire Catholique Jean Vanier
Ian Lamothe, École Secondaire Catholique Jean Vanier
Aaron Friesen, Eden High School
Meghan Busca, Eden High School
Alex Reynen, Governor Simcoe Secondary School
Arlinda Veseli, Governor Simcoe Secondary School
Ethan Dobrenski, Great Lakes Christian School
Arica Oliver, Greater Fort Erie Secondary School
Morgan Robinson, Greater Fort Erie Secondary School
Emma Bergen, Grimsby Secondary School
Hayden Miller, Grimsby Secondary School
Ara Antonides, Heritage Christian School
Hendrick Brasz, Heritage Christian School
Anna Tolkacz, Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School
Kaitlyn Wiebe, Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School
Samuel Beifuss, Lakeshore Catholic High School
Emily Caldwell, Lakeshore Catholic High School
Megan Clemmensen, Laura Secord Secondary School
Andrew Yap, Laura Secord Secondary School
Anthony Colosimo, Notre Dame College School
Brooke Atamanyk, Notre Dame College School
Riley Simpson, Port Colborne High School
Kaitlyn Chambers, Port Colborne High School
Mona Shivafard, Ridley College
Mario Alejandro Vera Esparza, Ridley College
Cole Carpenter, Saint Francis Catholic Secondary School
Rachel Bufalino, Saint Francis Catholic Secondary School
Anna Khutornaya, Saint Michael Catholic High School
Michael Mohammed, Saint Michael Catholic High School
Grant Booth, Saint Paul Catholic High School
Karen Hanna, Saint Paul Catholic High School
Gage Mitchener, Sir Winston Churchill Secondary School
Griffen Mason, Sir Winston Churchill Secondary School
Hope Amos, Smithville Christian High School
Rachael DeMask, Smithville Christian High School
Manikham (Marianne) Vongboutdy, St. Catharines Collegiate
Carissa Marcantonio, St. Catharines Collegiate
Jenna Wiegand, Stamford Collegiate
Brooke Bernier, Stamford Collegiate
Rebecca Mosimann, Thorold Secondary School
Brooklyn Brown, Thorold Secondary School
Gabryelle Corriveau, Welland Centennial Secondary School
Rielly Jinks, Welland Centennial Secondary School
Maeve Martin, Westlane Secondary School
Dordaneh Mirbabaei Ghafghazi, Westlane Secondary School

Read more stories in: Applied Health Sciences, Business, Education, Faculty & staff, Featured, Humanities, Mathematics and Science, Media release, News, People, Social Sciences
Tagged with: , , , , , ,