Thesis defences — Sept. 23 to 27

The following is a list of thesis defences taking place at Brock from Monday, Sept. 23 to Friday, Sept. 27.

All are open for the University community to attend.

Master of Science thesis defences 

Hayden Foy, a Master of Science candidate in the Department of Chemistry, will defend his thesis titled “Application of Density Functional Theory to Study the Mechanism of Alkali Metal Enolate Oxidation by N-sulfonyloxaziridines, Umpolung Amide Synthesis from Halo-Amino-Nitro Alkanes, Alkali-Metal Catalyzed Transfer Hydrogenation of Ketones, and Asymmetric Catalyzed Aza-Henry Reactions” on Tuesday, Sept. 24 at 9 a.m. in WH 147.

The examination committee includes Cheryl McCormick, Chair; Travis Dudding, Supervisor; Nicholas Mosey, External Examiner (Queen’s University); and Melanie Pilkington and Paul Zelisko, Committee Members.

Nurbek Imangazin, a Master of Science candidate in the Department of Computer Science, will defend his thesis titled “A Relation-Algebraic Approach to L-Fuzzy Topology” on Thursday, Sept. 26 at 11 a.m. in MC H313.

The examination committee includes Francine McCarthy, Chair; Michael Winter, Supervisor; Austin Melton, External Examiner (Kent State University, OH); and Brian Ross and Ke Qiu, Committee Members.

Master of Social Justice and Equity thesis defence

Social Justice and Equity Studies student Bridget Nicholls will defend the thesis “Animal Cruelty Officers and the Intersections of Daily Labour and the Law” on Tuesday, Sept. 24 at 4:30 p.m. in WH 147.

The examination committee includes Dawn Zinga, Chair; Kendra Coulter, Supervisor; Marcelo Rodriguez Ferrere, External Examiner (Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Law, University of Otago); Mary-Beth Raddon, Graduate Program Director; June Corman, Committee Member and Kate Bezanson, Committee Member.

PhD in Educational Studies Comprehensive Portfolio defence

Education student Jack Huizenga will defend the Portfolio “Authenticity: Being and becoming” on Thursday, Sept. 26 at 10 a.m. in WH 147.

The examination committee includes Shelley Griffin, Chair; Catherine Hands, External Examiner; Xavier Fazio, Supervisor; Julian Kitchen, Committee Member; and Wayne Melville, Committee Member (Lakehead University).

Read more stories in: Briefs, Graduate Students, Graduate Studies, Mathematics and Science
Tagged with: , , ,