Social Sciences event to recognize research excellence

The inaugural Social Sciences Research Colloquium being held Thursday, Dec. 6 from 10 a.m. to noon will recognize the outstanding research achievements of faculty members.

The event in Sankey Chamber will also give award recipients an opportunity to present their research to the University community. Charles Conteh, Political Science, and Larry Savage, Labour Studies, will receive Distinguished Researcher awards. Caitlin Mahy, Psychology and Danielle Sirianni Molnar, Child and Youth Studies, will receive Untenured Researcher of the Year awards.

The two sets of awards recognize faculty members with consistent records of outstanding research achievements as reflected in the quality and quantity of refereed publications, grants awards and other research activities. The Distinguished Researcher award for tenured faculty considers accomplishments from the past five academic years. The Untenured Researcher of the Year award considers accomplishments within the previous academic year.

Thursday’s event is open to everyone and light refreshments will be served.

Read more stories in: Briefs, Research, Social Sciences
Tagged with: , , , , , , ,