President honours outstanding staff, faculty

Stephen Renda didn’t expect to hear his name called at the President’s Holiday Celebration Monday afternoon.

“When the President said the recipient designs and builds equipment, I knew it was someone from Tech Services,” he said. “I thought it was another guy in our shop.”

Stephen Renda, Machinist for Tech Services — Machine Shop, was one of four people honoured with the President’s Distinguished Staff Service Awards for Outstanding Contributions.

Renda is a machinist who designs and builds teaching and research equipment for Brock’s Department of Mathematics and Science. He also services lab equipment like sterilizers, bench top centrifuges, vacuum pumps and liquid nitrogen stations.

He was one of four people honoured with the President’s Distinguished Staff Service Awards.

His nominator, Steve Crumb, boasted in the nomination application that Renda is one of the department’s most valued assets. “Whatever he designs, you know that great thought went into it and it is truly a work of art. He is the person I tell students to see,” Crumb wrote.

“It’s not lost on me that I’m ‘the guy,’” Renda said. “I like being helpful. I don’t do it for bragging rights or any other reason. That’s why I’m here. At the end of the day, it’s gratifying to know that these people come to me to help them.”

Renda was one of 35 faculty and staff who were honoured at the annual holiday event, which saw a record attendance of nearly 350 people.

President’s Distinguished Staff Service Awards

The President’s Distinguished Staff Service Awards for Outstanding Contributions recognize permanent staff members who have provided outstanding contributions to the working environment at Brock. This year’s winners were:

  • Beverly Minor, Dean’s Office of Applied Health Sciences
  • Darlene Morris, Department of Financial Services
  • Jayne Morrish, Lifespan Development Research Centre
  • Stephen Renda, Tech Services — Machine Shop

Human Resources Distinguished Staff Service Award for Leadership

Charlotte Sheridan from the Faculty of Graduate Studies was honoured with the Human Resources Distinguished Staff Service Award for Leadership, which recognizes one staff member with a proven record of leading and working collaboratively, engaging faculty and staff, building strong relationships and developing a respectful work and learning environment.

Quarter Century Club

Several faculty and staff were recognized for their long-standing commitment to Brock University. This year, 22 employees were inducted into the Quarter Century Club, joining 215 others who have worked for Brock for 25 years:

  • Joanne Boucher Johnson, Faculty of Humanities
  • Judith Brooder, Student Wellness and Accessibility Centre
  • John Culp, Client Services — Audio Visual Services
  • Valerie DeSimone, Finance, Operations and Information Systems
  • Fiona Hunter, Biological Sciences
  • Ruth McQuirter Scott, Department of Teacher Education
  • David R.F. Love, Economics
  • Mark Newman, Maintenance and Utilities Services
  • Matthew O’Beirn, Information Technology Services
  • Jeanette Ramsay, Dean’s Office — Social Sciences
  • Danny Rosenberg, Kinesiology
  • Brian Ross, Computer Science
  • Joyce Samuels, Human Resources
  • Susie Sykes, Access Services

35 years of long-standing service

Eight people were recognized for 35 years of service:

  • Sharon Broderick, Marketing, International Business and Strategy
  • Chris Critelli, Athletics, Brock Sports
  • James Fleming, Residence, Residences
  • Patricia Froese, Project and Administrative Support Office
  • Dave McCarthy, Computer Science
  • Mary-Jayne Mete, Student Success Centre
  • Jan Vrbik, Mathematics
  • Allister Young, Accounting

Read more stories in: Applied Health Sciences, Business, Education, Faculty & staff, Gallery, Graduate Studies, Humanities, Mathematics and Science, News, People, Social Sciences
Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,