Dean's Message

Faculty of Education

Dean's Message

Thank you for visiting our website, and welcome to the Faculty of Education at Brock University!
In June 2013, an important announcement about program delivery for Teacher Education was made jointly by the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Training, Colleges, and Universities. As a result, our Teacher Education programs have undergone revisions.  Please read more about Teacher Education as well as all our exciting programs in the Faculty of Education here.
I extend a special welcome to our newest colleagues ( January 2015): Susan Melnichuk, International Programs Manager, Wendy Brookes, Budget Officer, Philip Alexander, Office of Concurrent Education Academic Advisor and Field Experience Assistant, Dino Giancola, Media and Computer Technician in the IRC at the Hamilton Campus, and Krystyn Keir, Project Manager for the Enhanced Teacher Education Program. Finally, welcome to Marija Gojmerac who is our temporary assistant in the Department of Graduate/Undergraduate Studies and Gillian Cattle, Co-op Student (Practicum) Department of Teacher Education.
On behalf of the Faculty of Education, sincere thanks and appreciation go to Mrs. Janet Pollock (Department of Graduate and Undergraduate Studies in Education), who retired in December 2014, as well as to Ms. Kathy Rose (Centre for Adult Education and Community Outreach) who will be retiring in February 2015.
This Winter, we continue offering our Distinguished Speaker series. We will begin with Jon Arno Lawson and Robert Priest presenting on February 11th 2015 from 6-8 p.m at Alphie's Bistro. Recently, our M.Ed students Jason Ribeiro and Chris Ventura took part in Living Niagara, an exciting and important venue for community engagement. Please follow the link here. The iHub occupies a physical space in St. Catharines at the DSBN Academy, and it is designed to foster technology education start ups in an entrepreneurial partnership between DSBN, Innovate Niagara and Brock University's Faculty of Education, with Dr. Camille Rutherford as our lead.  One of the corporate residents,, has recently received funding, and the iHub also has just launched its new web site here.
Other notable recent news is that Dr. Jennifer Rowsell, CRC, became the Royal Society of Canada’s newest member of the inaugural College of New Scholars, Artists, and Scientists. And, Dr. Tony DiPetta, who is leading a group of colleagues from the University of Windsor, Queens University, Niagara College, Mohawk College, X and X in the creation of collaborative delivery of teacher education programming in technology education, recently received funding from MTCU. Other selected Faculty of Education achievements follow: 
  • Dr. Kari-Lynn Winters won the Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Robert Mroz won the Excellence in Sessional Teaching Award
  •  Rian McLaughlin won the Alumni Achievement Award for Service to Education
  • Sukhdeep Kaur Chohan won the Distinguished Alumni Award
  • Martine Fornoville won the Distinguished Alumni Award
  • Dr. Joe Engemann won the Graduate Mentorship Award.  
Spring Convocation at Brock University will take place from June 9th to 13th. As in previous years, we will hold our Alumni Awards Breakfast on the morning of the Faculty of Education convocation. We welcome your attendance. 
Wishing you a productive and enjoyable winter term, please look for more news from the Office of the Dean in the near future.
Fiona Blaikie, PhD
Dean and Professor 




Dr. Fiona Blaikie
Dr. Fiona Blaikie

Dean, Faculty of Education


Eleftherios (Terry) Soleas M.Ed. Thesis Defence
June 15, 2015 - 10:00am - 12:30pm