Interdisciplinary Humanities PhD Program

Faculty of Humanities




Interdisciplinary Humanities PhD Program

 

Participating Faculty Members

Michael P. Berman
Associate Professor (Ph.D. Department of Philosophy)
Email: mberman@brocku.ca; Ext: 3317
Research Interests: Continental Philosophy (phenomenology), Asian Philosophy (Buddhism), Comparative Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Science Fiction & Comics (print & film)
Available for supervision upon consultation

Gregory Betts

Associate Professor (English Language & Literature)
Email: gbetts@brocku.ca; Ext: 5318
Research Interests: Canadian Experimental and Avant-Garde Literature.

Irene Maria F. Blayer
Professor (Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures)
Email: iblayer@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Comparative Romance linguistics within a historical context; patterns of vocalic changes in Romance; oral narrative traditions and its importance for concepts of identity and culture; representation of orality in literary speech; linguistics of the Portuguese diaspora.
Contact for supervision

John Bonnett
Associate Professor (History/Digital Humanities)
Email: jbonnett@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Digital History; Digital Humanities; Virtual Heritage; Augmented Reality; Intellectual History; Harold Innis
Available for supervision

Leah Bradshaw
PhD, Professor (Political Science)
Email: lbradshaw@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Classical, modern and contemporary political philosophy; comparative accounts of the self in the Western tradition; empire, cosmopolitanism and citizenship; technology and philosophy.
Available for supervision only if in same research area

Wing-Cheuk Chan
Professor (Philosophy)
Email: wchan@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Chinese Philosophy, Yogacara Buddhism, Phenomenology, Habermas, Comparative Philosophy.
Contact for supervision

Janet Conway
Associate Professor (Sociology)
Email: jconway@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Contemporary social movements, in particular the knowledge arising from activist practice and its significance for reinventing emancipatory politics.
Contact for supervision

Keri Cronin
Associate Professor (Visual Arts)
Email: keri.cronin@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Visual Culture, Art History, Ecocriticism, Critical Animal Studies.
Considering supervision if research is clearly related

Christine Daigle
Professor (Philosophy)
Email: cdaigle@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Aesthetics, Environmental Philosophy, Ethics, Feminism, History of Philosophy, Philosophical Anthropology, Political Philosophy.
Available for supervision starting January 2014

Martin Danahay
Professor (English)
Email: mdanahay@brocku.ca; Ext: 5203
Research Interests: Victorian Literature and Culture, Lifewriting, Steampunk, Digital Humanities
Available for supervision in same areas of research

Stefan Dolgert
Assistant Professor (Political Science)
Email: sdolgert@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Political Theory, including: Ancient Political Philosophy, Continental Political Thought, Critical Animal Studies, Democratic Theory, Environmental Ethics, Literature and Philosophy, New Materialism, Posthumanism.
Available for supervision

Ifeanyi Ezeonu
Associate Professor (Sociology)
Email: iezeonu@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Gang violence, racialised crime, the social construction of crime, transnational crime, environmental crime in the Niger Delta region of Nigeria, and contemporary African Diaspora.
Contact for supervision

David Fancy
Associate Professor (Dramatic Arts)
Email: dfancy@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Performance, Performativity, Immanentist thought, Deleuze and Guattari, Theatre Creation.
Available for supervision by request and according to alignment with student’s interests

Corrado Federici
Professor (Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures)
Email: cfederici@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Modern Italian poetry and novel, translation and translation theory, and literary theory.
Contact for supervision

Allison Glazebrook
Associate Professor (Classics)
Email: aglazebrook@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Ancient World: Sexuality, Slavery, Rhetoric (including visual), Women.
Available for supervision

Barry Grant
Professor (Communications, Popular Culture and Film)
Email: bgrant@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Film studies, documentary film, film history, popular genres
Not available for supervision

Elizabeth Greene
Associate Professor (Classics)
Email: esgreene@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Ancient Economy, maritime archaeology archeological ethics and heritage management, and intersections between the worlds of art and archaeology, literature, and history.
Contact for supervision

Dr. Rosemary Drage Hale
Director, Centre for Medieval & Renaissance Studies
Professor, Medieval & Renaissance Studies
Email: rdragehale@brocku.ca; Ext: 5379
Research Interests: Most areas of medieval history and literature; history of Christianity (400-1600CE); comparative mysticism; women’s religious experience; popular culture and religion; construction of masculinity; writing of historical fiction.
Available for one supervision; available for secondary reader as well

Douglas Kneale
Professor (English Language and Literature)
Email: jdkneale@brocku.ca
Research Interests: English Romanticism, literary history, critical theory, and language and rhetoric.
Contact for supervision

Jane Koustas
Professor (Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures)
Email: jkoustas@brocku.ca
Research Interests: English-Canadian literature in translation, translation theory and practice, translation history in Canada, Quebec theatre and theatre translation.
Contact for supervision

Rajiv Kaushik
Associate Professor (Philosophy)
Email: rkaushik@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Phenomenology temporality, the imagination in Husserl and Merleau-Ponty, and the writings of Marcel Proust.
Contact for supervision

Kevin Kee
Associate Professor (History/Digital Humanities)
Email: kkee@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Digital Humanities; Digital History
Limited availability for supervision

Leah Knight
Associate Professor (English Language and Literature)
Email: lknight@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Early modern English poetry and prose; book history, especially the history of reading and print culture; Anne Clifford (1590-1676).
Available for supervision

Brian Lightbody
Associate Professor (Philosophy)
Email: blightbody@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Philosophical Genealogy, Epistemology, Foucault, Nietzsche, Naturalism, Action Theory.
Available for supervision

Jack Lightstone
Professor (History)
Email: jack.lightstone@brocku.ca

Ingrid Makus
Associate Professor (Political Science)
Email: imakus@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Examining current debates over identity politics and rights discourse.
Contact for supervision

Mathew R. Martin
Associate Professor (English Language and Literature)
Email: mmartin@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Early modern English literature
Available for supervision

Carol U. Merriam
Associate Professor (Classics)
Email: merriamc@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Based in the field of Augustan poetry, particularly elegy.
Contact for supervision

Behnaz Mirzai
Associate Professor (History)
Email: bmirzai@brocku.ca
Research Interests: comparative and cross-cultural studies, ethnicity, slavery, gender, and social economic and religious interactions in the Middle East.
Contact for supervision

Shannon Moore
Associate Professor (Child and Youth Studies)
Email: smoore@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Transdisciplinary thinking with an emphasis on community-based implementation of restorative practices as well as UN human rights and justice instruments.
Not available for supervision

Tomas Mulligan
Associate Professor (OBHREE)
Email: mulligan@brocku.ca
Contact for supervision

Elizabeth Neswald
Associate Professor (History)
Email: eneswald@brocku.ca
Research Interests: History of science and technology since 1800.
Available for supervision

Joe Norris
Professor (Dramatic Arts)
Email: jnorris@brocku.ca; Ext: 3596
Research Interests: Methodologies, Arts-based Methodologies, Playbuilding, Ethnodrama, Narrative Inquiry, Autoethnography, Duoethnography, Video in research (documentary)
Contact for supervision

Olatunji Ojo
Associate Professor (History)
Email: oojo@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Slavery, ethnicity and identity formation, religion and gender, center on the history of social and economic change.
Contact for supervision

Catharine Parayre
Associate Professor (Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures)
Email: cparayre@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Representation of women in contemporary Occitan literature; questions of identity in minority literatures; landscape description; photography in literary texts; testimonies of illness in recent French texts; disfigurement in contemporary literature and the visual arts; disability in literature and the arts.
Not available for supervision

Brian Power
Associate Professor (Music)
Email: bpower@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Manuscript transmission and performance-practice issues associated with late medieval and early Renaissance church music.
Contact for supervision

John A. Sainsbury
Professor (History)
Email: jsainsbu@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Libertinism in the long Eighteenth Century
Contact for supervision

Daniel Samson
Associate Professor (History)
Email: dsamson@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Colonial, political culture, rural, environmental
Not available for supervision

Elizabeth Sauer
Professor (English Language and Literature)
Email: esauer@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Early Modern English Literature, Culture, and History, including Milton, civil war writers, print culture, women writers, nationalism studies, history of toleration, transatlantic writing.
Available for supervision

Hans Skott-Myhre
Associate Professor (Child and Youth Studies)
Email: hskottmy@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Philosophies of Immanence, Continental Philosophy, Post-Marxism, Subjectivity, Youth Subcultures, Critical Disability.
Available for supervision

Cristina Santos
Associate Professor (Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures)
Email: csantos@brocku.ca
Research Interests: investigating the “monstrous” depictions of women. From an inter-disciplinary and hermeneutical approach she investigates how these “aberrations” of “feminine” nature differ markedly--either in intelligence, social adjustment, and/or sexual behaviour--from what is considered to be within acceptable limits of women’s socio-cultural.
Contact for supervision

R. Angus K. Smith
Associate Professor (Classics)
Email: rsmith@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Issues of mortuary archaeology and ceramic analysis in the Bronze Age Aegean.
Contact for supervision

Mark G. Spencer
Associate Professor (History)
Email: mspencer@brocku.ca
Research Interests: History of Ideas in Eighteenth-Century America and Britain.
Available for supervision

Linda Steer
Associate Professor (Visual Arts)
Email: lsteer@brocku.ca
Research Interests: History and theory of photography; photography and the avant-garde; surrealism and photography; the use of photographs in Beat literature, particularly in the collaborative work of William S Burroughs and Brion Gysin; word and image studies.
Contact for supervision

Donna Szoke
Assistant Professor (Visual Arts)
Email: dszoke@brocku.ca
Research Interests: Contemporary Art, emergent art practices, experimental animation, media art, installation art, critical theory.
Currently unavailable for supervision
 

 

FGS package