Department of Earth Sciences

Department of Earth Sciences

The Department of Earth Sciences was founded at Brock University in 1968, three years after the University was formed. The department now has 10 faculty members with a wide variety of research and teaching interests.

Research specialties include clastic sedimentology, structural geology, micromorphology, micropaleontology and paleoecology, terrestrial and marine palynology, Quaternary paleoecology, environmental geology, carbonate geochemistry, metamorphic and igneous petrology, volcanology, geochemistry and glacial geology/geomorphology.

The Department offers a traditional undergraduate geology program and a program in environmental geoscience. Also offered is a MSc program that includes a broad area of "crustal studies" and Quaternary geology. Note that Crustal studies includes any aspect of earth science that deals with the crust (including paleontology, sedimentology, etc.).

Connect with us: