Department of Psychology

Department of Psychology

News & Events

February 2015

Congratulations to our PhD graduate, Dr. Cara MacInnis, who has accepted a tenure-track position at the University of Calgary.

Congratulations to PhD candidate, Paul Adachi, who received the SSHRC Banting Postdoc to work with Dr. Rich Ryan and Dr. Ed Deci at the University of Rochester.

Congratulations to Harmonie Chan (a High School Mentorship Plus student in the Face Perception Lab directed by Dr. Cathy Mondloch) who won one of three High School Science Awards from the Canadian Psychological Association! She will be presenting her work at the national convention in Vancouver, BC June 5 - 7. Harmonie discovered that both young and older adults have less consensus about how attractive older adult faces are than about how attractive young adult faces are, providing further evidence of perceptual tuning that favours young adult faces. Her talk is titled: Betty White versus Natalie Portman: Investigating Attractiveness Judgments and Age Estimates for Young and Older Adult Faces

July 2014

Congratulations to our PhD graduate, Dr. Lindsey Short who has accepted a position as Assistant Professor at Redeemer University College (Ancaster).

April 2014

Congratulations to Stephen Emrich on receiving an NSERC Research Tools and Instruments Grant. 

Congratulations to Iva Mathews, Psychology PhD graduate, who accepted a a tensure-track assistant professor position in the Department of Psychology, University of Toronto, Mississauga.

In the news:  Professor Cathy Mondloch's research on face perception:

Congratulations to Cara MacInnis, recipient of the 2012 Jack Miller Excellence in Research Award.

Congratulations to Sid Segalowitz, recipient of the 2013 Graduate Mentorship Award.  This is a relatively new award  honouring an individual faculty member who has provided graduate students with outstanding support and encouragement in their development as graduate student researchers.
For more information follow this link.

February 2013

Congratulations to Cara MacInnis who has been awarded a SSHRC-funded postdoctoral fellowship.

Congratulations to Jane Dywan, Cathy Mondloch and Sid Segalowitz who were presented with plaques to commemorate their Canada Foundation for Innovation - Leaders Opportunity Fund Award.  They were recognized for obtaining grants indicative of their outstanding research contributions.

October 2012

Congratulations to Christine Lackner who was awarded the 2012-13 Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarship in Science and Technology (QEII-GSST) and the Dean of Graduate Studies Excellence Scholarship.

July 2012

Congratulations to Royette Travernier who received the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship and the Dr. Raymond and Mrs. Sachi Moriyama Graduate Fellowship, awarded to the student with the highest average entering the PhD program.

May 2012

Congratulations!  Linda Rose-Krasnor, with Robert Coplan of Carleton University, has been awarded a 5-year SSHRC Insight Grant titled "Shyness, Participation in Organized Activities, and Socio-Emotional Functioning in Early Childhood." 

Congratulations to Dr. Stefan Brudzynski who has been awarded a 5-year NSERC Discovery Grant titled "Neural mechanisms of animal vocalization and communication."

Congratulations to Dr. Karen Arnell who as been awarded a 1-year NSERC Discovery Grant titled "Behavioural and electrophysiological investigations of individual differences in dual-task attention costs."

April 2012

Congratuations to Dr. Kathy Belicki recipient of the Brock University Alumni of Distinction Award.

Congratulations to Mary MacLean, PhD candidate, who won the University's Excellence in Research Award.  This award recognizes research achievement by graduate students at the Master's or Doctoral level.

Congratulations to our graduate students Angela Dzyundzyak, Matthew Green, Mark Hoffarth, Alexa Morden and Thalia Semplonius who have been awarded 2012 Dean of Graduate Studies Spring Research Fellowships:

June 2011

Congratulations to PhD candidate, Gillian Dale and MA candidate, Stefon van Noordt, this year's winners of the Certificate of Teaching Excellence from the Council of Canadian Departments of Psychology.  This award recognizes these students' excellent work as teaching assistants in our undergraduate courses. 

Congratulations Carolyne Holmes, the winner of this year's Writing Award for undergraduate courses in Psychology.

MAY 2011

Congratulations to Paul Adachi, PhD candidate, who won the Distinguished Graduate Student Award - MA Psychoogy and Iva Mathews, PhD, who won the Distinguished Graduate Student Award - PhD Psychoogy 

The Distinguished Graduate Student Award is presented to one student from each program who has attained the highest average.

For previous award recipients, click here