Faculty honours teaching and alumni award recipients

News around Campus

Faculty honours teaching and alumni award recipients

Published on June 05 2014

On Wednesday, June 4, prior to the first of two Faculty of Education convocation ceremonies, members of the Brock Education community gathered to celebrate the accomplishments two influential educators and one distinguished alumni.

With President Jack Lightstone and VPF Brian Hutchings in attendance, Dean Fiona Blaikie welcomed guests to the Welch Hall atrium to celebrate the work of Kari-Lynn Winters (winner of the Excellence in Teaching Award), Robert Mroz (winner of the Excellence in Sessional Teaching Award), and Rian McLaughlin (winner of the first Faculty of Education Alumni Achievement Award for Service).

McLaughlin, A BEd grad from Brock in 1991, has served as President of the Hamilton-Wentworth Occasional Teacher Local since 2001 and has committed herself to outstanding work in service outside the classroom.

Some highlights of McLaughlin’s work include: successfully lobbying ministries and provincial governing boards to a precedent-setting Ministry of Education pilot for new teacher induction and mentorship with over $25,000 in initial funding, ultimately leading to a Ministry of Education regulatory change to require inclusion of Long Term Occasional Teachers in the New Teacher Induction Program; conceiving, establishing and securing funding for the biennial, year-long Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board Specialist Occasional Teaching in Special Education Certificate; and playing significant roles in two award-winning curriculum resources.

Mroz, winner of the Excellence in Sessional Teaching Award has contributed to Brock’s Faculty of Education for nearly 30 years and is committed to student learning, fostering meaningful partnerships with students and fellow educators.

Highly regarded among his peers, Mroz drew praise from one of his colleagues who said that “his 28 years with Brock University have truly demonstrated his outstanding commitment to the promotion and furtherance of Brock’s Teacher Education Program in our Ontario schools. He has influenced hundreds of our finest new teachers”.

Winters, the winner of the Excellence in Teaching Award, possesses a true understanding of teaching and learning and brings with her that same understanding and passion to her teachings.

Creating a relevant, authentic, and meaningful learning experience for her students, Winters focuses on cultivating an inclusive and stimulating learning environment, prompting one of her students to say “I honestly believe that it is not the subject itself that got students motivated and eager to attend class each week, but was the [Kari-Lynn]. It is her personality, her enthusiasm, her knowledge, her approachability, and her passion for drama that brought us all to the classroom with positivity, smiles and a desire to learn.”

The Faculty of Education thanks all those who came out to support this year’s winners and congratulates once more Kari-Lynn Winters, Robert Mroz, and Rian McLaughlin.



winners posing with frames
Award Winners

from left to right: Rian McLaughlin, Robert Mroz, Kari-Lynn Winters