Congratulations to the Class of 2011

Faculty of Graduate Studies

Congratulations to the Class of 2011

The Faculty of Graduate Studies congratulates 388 graduate students — the Class of 2011 — to receive master’s and doctoral degrees at Brock University Spring Convocation ceremonies in June 2011.

Val Andrei Fajardo was this year’s recipient of the Governor General's Gold Medal that is awarded to the student who achieves the highest academic standing at the graduate level. Fajardo completed his MSc in Mathematics and Statistics under the supervision of Professor Mei Ling Huang. He is currently at the University of Waterloo pursuing a PhD in Statistics.

He was also among 16 recipients of the 2010-11 Distinguished Graduate Student Awards. These awards are presented to students with the highest graduating average in their program.
The following is a list of awards presented at the June ceremonies:

Governor General’s Gold Medal
Val Andrei Fajardo, MSc Mathematics and Statistics

Excellence in Research Award
Melissa Page, PhD Biological Sciences
Iva Mathews, PhD Psychology
Anis Triki, MSc Management

Jack Noble Book Prize
Susan Lorie Down, Master of Education

John Edds Prize in Master of Accountancy
Lisa Michelle Harvey, Master of Accountancy


Distinguished Graduate Student Award
Catherine Thomas, MSc Biological Sciences
David Ledderhof, MSc Biological Sciences
James Joseph Willwerth, PhD Biological Sciences
Royette Tavernier, MA Child and Youth Studies
Rebecca Starkman, MA Child and Youth Studies
Maja Srndic, MA Studies in Comparative Literatures and Arts
Robert W. J. Flack, MSc Computer Science
Lisa Combe, MA Geography
Shane Nicholls, MSc Management
Val Andrei Fajardo, MSc Mathematics and Statistics
Carolyn Ellis, MA Philosophy
Megan B. Cudmore, MA Political Science
Iva Mathews, PhD Psychology
Jennifer LeNestour, Master of Business Administration
Susan Lorie Down, Master of Education
Patricia Ruth Petersen, Master of Applied Disability Studies

Spirit of Brock
Ben Leber,
 MSc Applied Health Sciences — Faculty of Applied Health Sciences
David Hurst,
 MBA — Faculty of Business
Danielle Hourigan,
 Master’s of Education — Faculty of Education
Elizabeth Cherniak, 
MA Comparative Literatures and Arts — Faculty of Humanities
Ivana Komljenovic, 
MSc Physics — Faculty of Mathematics and Science
Hilda Osae,
 MA Political Science — Faculty of Social Sciences