Class of 2010

Faculty of Graduate Studies

Class of 2010

The Faculty of Graduate Studies congratulates the Class of 2010 as Brock University holds its Spring Convocation ceremonies June 9 to 12.
During the seven ceremonies, 327 graduate students will receive their degress – 317 at the master’s level and 10 at the doctorate level. More than 30 graduate students will receive special award honours at convocation.
Patrick Boyle is this year’s recipient of the Governor General's Gold Medal that is awarded to the student who achieves the highest academic standing at the graduate level. Boyle completed his PhD in Biotechnology under the supervision of Professor Charles Després and has started his post-doctoral work at Cornell University in Ithaca, N.Y.
Boyle is also among 25 recipients of the 2010-09 Distinguished Graduate Student Awards. These awards are presented to students with the highest graduating average in their program.
Six graduate students will receive the Board of Trustees Spirit of Brock medals. The award honours students for their academic and personal accomplishments and specifically recognizes them for demonstrating qualities such as leadership, innovation, inspiration and community citizenship.

Schedule of ceremonies

Graduate awards
Governor General’s Gold Medal:
Patrick Callaghan Boyle, PhD Biotechnology
Excellence in Research Award: Scott Veldhuizen, MA in Applied Health Sciences; Jessica Lorraine Vickruck, MSc in Biological Sciences
Jack Noble Book Prize: Pamela Dawn Klassen-Dueck, Master of Education
John Edds Prize in Master of Accountancy: Matthew M. Oliver, Master of Accountancy
Distinguished Graduate Student Award (Note: list includes recipients at spring and fall convocations): Spring 2010 Convocation: Jessica Lorraine Vickruck, MSc in Biological Sciences; Mohamed El-Mogy, PhD in Biological Sciences; Patrick Callaghan Boyle, PhD in Biotechnology ; Jonathan Alexander Collins, PhD in Chemistry; Xiang Yin, MSc in Computer Science; Melissa Elizabeth Barnard, MSc in Earth Science; M. Sedigh Ghamari, MSc in Physics; Jeffrey P. Boichuk, MSc in Management; Lisa Giewercer, Master of Applied Disability Studies; Naomi Gutknecht, MA in Child and Youth Studies; Katherine Lesley Schleifer, MA in Classics; Katie Hemsworth, MA in Geography; Terry Jay Trowbridge, MA in Social Justice and Equity Studies;Hilary Ann Brown, PhD in Education Fall 2009 Convocation: Bryan VanSchouwen, MSc in Biotechnology; Ryan West, MSc in Chemistry; Christopher Plyley, MSc in Mathematics and Statistics; Jennifer Huffman, MSc in Applied Health Sciences; Roman Pizzacalla, MA in Applied Linguistics (TESL); Marion Trent-Kratz, MA in Child and Youth Studies; Liam Young, MA in Popular Culture; Cara MacInnis, MA in Psychology; Michael Busseri, PhD in Psychology; Gail Joy Higenell, Master of Education; Karen Rose, Master of Business Administration
Board of Trustee Spirit of Brock Medals: Emily Hastings-Speck, Faculty of Education ; Renée Louise McKinley, Faculty of Social Sciences; Katherine Schleifer, Faculty of Humanities; Lisa Neville, Faculty of Mathematics and Science; Theodore (Ted) Soepboer, Faculty of Business; Jennifer Ptasinski, Faculty of Applied Health Sciences

Connect with us: