Subscribe with RSS or E-mail /

Brock students choose 2014 BUSU executive team

Posted by csmith on Feb 14th, 2014 and filed under Top stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Brock University students have chosen their 2014 executive.

Roland Erman will take over from Cooper Millard as president.

Erman, who didn’t have an opponent, received 3,313 votes (90.3 per cent), easily eclipsing the 50 per cent of ‘yes’ votes he needed.

Kyle Rose defeated Harish Aggarwal and Michael Nash for vice-president, finance and administration. Rose captured 2083 votes (54.4 per cent), while Aggarwal had 1,479 (38.6 per cent) and Nash finished with 270 (7 per cent).

Drew Ursacki is the new vice-president, external affairs after getting 1,782 votes (48 per cent). He beat Kevin Wilson (1,482) and Erik Deacons (450).

In the race for vice-president, student services, Paul Dermody had 1,743 votes (44.1 per cent) to defeat Lashkar Dehal (1,140) and Ernie Mehra (1,070).

Christopher Yendt (87.4 per cent), Antonio Sergi (76 per cent) and Yi Gao (69.4 per cent) will comprise the new board of directors.

The referendum motion was also voted down, meaning students won’t be required to pay a $32.00 flat fee, to be charged to all undergraduate students, to support the Brock University Students’ Union Programing Levy.

Of 3,528 votes, 72 per cent were against the proposal.

In total, 4,199 students (23.4 per cent) voted over three days. The 2014 executive will take office May 1.

2014 BUSU executive team
President, Roland Erman
Vice-president, finance & administration: Kyle Rose
Vice-president, external affairs: Drew Ursacki
Vice-president, student services: Paul Dermody

Board of directors
Christopher Yendt
Antonio Sergi
Yi Gao

Categories: Top stories
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply


Photo Gallery

For both sides of the brain.

Switch to our mobile site

--> Brock University | Niagara Region | 500 Glenridge Ave., St. Catharines, Ont., L2S 3A1 Canada [ VISIT BROCK ] [ CAMPUS MAP ] Telephone: 905-688-5550